Siyaguna takes over the lead in the International contest

BATA-the Sunday Times Most Popular School Boy Cricketer of the Year Contest 2010

While the leader in the Allisland Contest Raihaan Rizvi seems to be flying away, the battle for the second place between Ananda’s prolific batsman Geshan Wimaladharma and Benedictine Nishal Fonseka has hotted up.

At the end of count No 6 though there is no significant difference in their respective positions from last week, Fonseka who has netted a total of 1163 votes has closed the gap with Wimaladharma and now is only 916 votes away from the second placed.

In the outstation contest Nalin Priyadharshana of Siri Piyarathana MV, Padukka also is not totally secure in his position as G. Ayesh Madushan is trailing behind him and now the difference between the two contestants is only 245 votes.

In the International segment the five week dominance of Lyceum International School Wattala has ended. At the end of count No 6 Michael Siyaguna of Colombo International School who was in fourth place has taken over the lead with Rajeer Sri Keerthiwardena of Gateway International who was occupying the fifth position in the second place.

However the gap between Siyaguna and Keerthiwardena is also a very slim one. Siyaguna with 1597 votes is only a slim 86 votes away from his closest rival –Keerthiwardena who has ended up with 1511 votes.

The readers Prizes go to: Kavindu Ashan Perera, 54/3/1, Samaranayake Mawatha Alubomulla. 2. D.S.K. Gamage, 1/85, Kurunduwatte, Galle. 3. E.G. Sumith, 765/285, National Housing Complex, Maligawatte, Colombo 10.

All Island contest

1. Raihaan Rizvi Carey 12627
2. Geshan Wimaladharma Ananda 2646
3. Nishal Fonseka St. Benedict’s 1730
4. Shavinda Edirisuriya Royal 459
5. Mohamed Ijaz D.S. Senanayake 395
6. Kithruwan Vithanage Royal 388
7. Nipun Karunanayake Nalanda 266
8. Shehan Fernando St. Peter’s 237
9. Ramesh Vidanarachchi St. Joseph's 204
10. Luvina Lochana Thurstan 200

Outstation Contest

1. Nalin Priyadharshana Siri Piyarathana Vid. 2364
2. G. Ayesh Madushan Holy Cross 2119
3. Anjelo Jayasinghe Maris Stella 765
4. Kavindu Ashan Perera Panadura Royal 653
5. K. Dinuka Kaushalya Kuliyapitiya Central 618
6. Sapumal Pathirana Kalutara Vidyalaya 241
7. Tharindu Uthpala Paranagama Kalutara Vidyalaya 118
8. Hasitha Lakmal De Silva Kularatne Vidyalaya 105
9. Dharshana Rajarathna Galewela Central 55
10. Kasun Madusanka St. Servatius 13

International School Contest

1. Michael Siyaguna CIS 1597
2. Rajeer Sri Keerthiwardena Gateway Intl. 1511
3. Shaji Rayyan Samman Lyceum Intl.-Wattala 1478
4. Nesarajaha Revenson Lyceum Intl –Wattala 1474
5. Tharusha Thilakarathne Lyceum Intl-Wattala 1247
6. Naushid Nuhuman Lyceum Intl-Wattala 498
7. Akram Thadhani Lyceum Intl –Wattala 278
8. Aswin Hanifa Lyceum Intl-Nugegoda 180
9. Raminda Silva Lyceum Intl School-Wattala 152
10. Yokanth Ravichandrakumar Lyceum Intl –Wattala 140

Top to the page  |  E-mail  |  views[1]
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend
Other Sports Articles
Joes crying by the Beira Lake!
Can't bat, can't bowl, can jibe: Howard to rule over world cricket
The Vaas burst
Preserving the golden goose
Jeyanthan and Mercy emerge open champions
Otters Tennis from March 11-19
Cooray’s five wicket haul highlight on day one
Lankans dump Kiwis at Greenpath
When agony followed ecstasy!
Bertie Wijesinghe, did everything for nothing
Sri Lanka eyes Asian Games qualifying tourney in Dhaka
Royal muscle vs Thomian grit
Cambrians and Sebs coming with confidence
Trinity are confident but St. Anthony’s can upset
Piyasena to attend Chef De Missions confab in S’pore
Wayamba and Ruhuna qualify to the final
Aussies scrape through in second game
Kingswood-Dharmaraja drawn
Asian in thrilling win over Stafford
Musaeus College Colombo emerge champions
Tame draw at Moratuwa
TT star Sasini Wellalage
Siyaguna takes over the lead in the International contest


Reproduction of articles permitted when used without any alterations to contents and a link to the source page.
© Copyright 2010 | Wijeya Newspapers Ltd.Colombo. Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.| Site best viewed in IE ver 6.0 @ 1024 x 768 resolution