Jeyanthan and Mercy emerge open champions

Jaffna Nestomalt Mini Marathon
By M. Shamil Amit

K. Jeyanthan and N. Mercy came out winners at the Jaffna Nestomalt Mini Marathon run over 10kms yesterday. There were two other races conducted for schoolboys and schoolgirls held concurrently with M. Tinesh and S.Kajury emerging winners in the two events.

This event was the first of the six marathons that Nestle Lanka Ltd has planned to conduct around the island for the year 2010. An event of this nature is being held in Jaffna after a lapse of three decades.
An official of the organized stated that a record 7200 participants took part in the Jaffna mini marathon which exceed the 5000 runners that they were expecting to take part and was flagged off opposite the Duraiappah Stadium.

The marathon was held with the blessing of the Amateur Athletic Association with the presence of its secretary Prema Pinnawala. The organizers have not finalized the venue of the remaining five marathons.

Open Men – 1. Krishnam Jeyanthan. 2. Harischandran Jagadeeran. 3. P. Pradeepan. Open Women – 1. N. Mercy (Sandilipai Andaththarippu). 2. N. Sumathi (Pandatharippu). 3. S. Jasintha (Mulai). Schoolboys – 1. M. Tinesh (St. Anthony’s College). 2. J. Jeewanraj (Skndwaroya College). 3. J. Jasikan (Bigneshwara Vidyalaya). Schoolgirls – 1. S. Kajury. 2. B. Revathi. 3. M. Jenita.

Top to the page  |  E-mail  |  views[1]
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend
Other Sports Articles
Joes crying by the Beira Lake!
Can't bat, can't bowl, can jibe: Howard to rule over world cricket
The Vaas burst
Preserving the golden goose
Jeyanthan and Mercy emerge open champions
Otters Tennis from March 11-19
Cooray’s five wicket haul highlight on day one
Lankans dump Kiwis at Greenpath
When agony followed ecstasy!
Bertie Wijesinghe, did everything for nothing
Sri Lanka eyes Asian Games qualifying tourney in Dhaka
Royal muscle vs Thomian grit
Cambrians and Sebs coming with confidence
Trinity are confident but St. Anthony’s can upset
Piyasena to attend Chef De Missions confab in S’pore
Wayamba and Ruhuna qualify to the final
Aussies scrape through in second game
Kingswood-Dharmaraja drawn
Asian in thrilling win over Stafford
Musaeus College Colombo emerge champions
Tame draw at Moratuwa
TT star Sasini Wellalage
Siyaguna takes over the lead in the International contest


Reproduction of articles permitted when used without any alterations to contents and a link to the source page.
© Copyright 2010 | Wijeya Newspapers Ltd.Colombo. Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.| Site best viewed in IE ver 6.0 @ 1024 x 768 resolution