Another reminder by Chandimal

Premier Cricket-Tier ‘A’
By M. Shamil Amit

NCC have set themselves for an early victory against CCC after the completion of the second day’s play in their Premier Tier ‘A’ encounter at the CCC ground. NCC had CCC in tatters by bowling them out for 111 in the first inning and then have them struggling on 147 for 8 when made to follow on. It was right arm pacie Ramesh Subasinghe did the damage with a five wicket haul to send them reeling.
Ramesh was supported by right arm fast medium bowler and skipper Kosala Kulasekera and Akalanka Ganegama who together shared five wickets between them.

Dinesh Chandimal in action - Pic by Ranjith Perera

Earlier NCC taking first lease of the wicket made an imposing score of 371 for 7 on day one and resuming on day two went on to make 402. The innings was highlighted by tons coming from Dinesh Chandimal and Shashrika Pussegolla.

Dinesh slammed 136 from 159 balls which had 16 boundaries and two sixes while Shashrika cracked 125 inclusive of 18 boundaries and two sixes with the pair adding a valuable stand of 187 runs for the fourth wicket.

Chilaw Marians was well placed against Lankan CC in their Premier match when play stopped on the second day at the FTZ ground in Katunayake. Chilaw Marians resuming from their overnight score of 124 for 3 ended their innings making 311.

This was in reply to Lankan CC score of 184. Lankan CC batting the second time ended day two on 156 for 4.

NCC (371/7 overnight) 402 (Dinesh Chandimal 136, Shashrika Pussegolla 125, Akalanka Ganegama 46, Yohan de Silva 24, Kosala Kulasekera 19, Roshan Lakmal 20 n.o.: Sujeewa de Silva 4 for 57, Nisal Randika 2 for 38, Zameer Zahir 2 for 56, Sohan Bowela 2 for 115)

CCC 111 (Nisal Randika 25, Sujeewa de Silva 17, Sohan Bowela 30 n.o.: Ramesh Subasinghe 5 for 39, Kosala Kulasekera 3 for 43, Akalanka Ganegama 2 for 23) and 149 for 7 (Dhanushka Gunatileke 41, Daminda Ranaweera 30, Amila Wettasinghe 15, Tharindu Mendis 43 n.o.: Farveez Maharoof 3 for 25, Roshan Lakmal 2 for 45)

At FTZ Katunayake – Chilaw
Marians vs Lankan CC
Lankan CC 184 (Nimesh Perera snr 40, Hasantha Fernando 29, Chanaka Wijesinghe 19, Rajeewa Weerasinghe 18, Hemantha Boteju 17, Saliya Saman 31 n.o.: Dinuka Hettiarachchi 3 for 57, Janaka Gunaratne 2 for 34, Chinthaka Perera 2 for 42) and 156 for 4 (Hemantha Boteju 27, Dilshan Witharana 76 n.o., Hasantha Fernando 31 n.o.: Malinda Pushpakumara 2 for 29)

Chilaw Marians (124/3 overnight) 311 (Milinda Siriwardena 59, Harsha Cooray 45, Janaka Gunaratne 40, Gayan Wijekoon 39, Amal Athulathmudali 23, Dinuka Hettiarachchi 20, Arosh Janoda 64 n.o.: Roshan Laksiri 3 for 57, Hasantha Fernando 2 for 12, Rajeewa Weerasinghe 2 for 100)
Tier ‘B’

Gihan helps BRC amass 356/4
An unbeaten century by Gihan Perera supported by half tons from Mohamed Asker and Thamara Abeyratne helped BRC resuming from their overnight score of 75 for 1 end day two amass a formidable score of 356 for 4 against Air Force in their Premier Tier ‘B’ encounter played at the BRC ground. Air Force taking first lease of the wicket on day one made 275.

Navy have already obtained a first inning lead over Panadura at the end of the second days play when play stopped for tea in their match played at the Panadura Esplanade.

Panadura resuming from their overnight score of 59 for 4 were restricted to a score of 190. This was in reply to Navy’s formidable score of 284 which came on the back of a knockoff 102 by Dhanushka Gurusinghe.

Police were 60 for no loss after bowling out Singha SC for 207 at the end of the first days play in their match played at the Welagedera Stadium in Kurunegala.

At Panadura – Panadura vs Navy
Navy 284 (Dhanushka Gurusinghe 102, Udara Jayasundara 50, Ranil Rasanga 33, Mahesha Perera 24, Chanaka Ruwansiri 19: Rasika Fernando 5 for 60, Amila Perera 3 for 68, Mohan Fonseka 2 for 70) and 171 for 8 (Udara Peiris 38, Gayas Christopher 33, Anura Wegoapola 18, Uadara Jayasundara 16, Nipuna Ranasinghe 44 n.o. Mohan Fonseka 4 for 54, Amila Perera 3 for 45)

Panadura (59/4 overnight) 190 (Carmen Mapatuna 66, Sudesh Umayanga 22, Tharindu Thushan 16, Rasika Fernando 43 n.o.: Dulanjana Mendis 4 for 63, Udara Peiris 3 for 51, Nishantha Weerakkody 2 for 34)

At BRC – BRC vs Air Force
Air Force 275 (Rajitha Ratnayake 84, Dinusha Fernando 50, Ajith Kumara 39, Angelo Emmanuel 32, Raju Gayashan 20, Pishan Hewage 18, Walter Premaratne 16: Marlan Madusanka 3 for 82, Nimesh Perera jnr 2 for 34, Thamara Abeyratne 2 for 34)

BRC (75/1 overnight) 356 for 4 (Mohamed Asker 75, Dellon Udugamasuriya 58, Nimesh Perera jnr 18, Gihan Perera 126 n.o., Thamara Abeyratne 70 n.o: Dinusha Fernando 2 for 34)

At Welagedera – Singha SC vs
Singha SC 207 (Nalaka Kaluarachchi 56, Sriyan Sanjeewa 32, Sameera Vithana 31, Levan Mushin 27, Lahiru Ashen 22, Chandana Rajapakse 19: Dhammika Rajapakse 4 for 52, Malin Kumara 3 for 47)
Police 60 for no loss (R`vin Nirmal 36 n.o., Dhammika Rajapakse 16 n.o.)

Top to the page  |  E-mail  |  views[1]
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend
Other Sports Articles
I felt so sorry for Dilshan for letting off the hat-trick
Bad light halts Thomian party
No room for complacency or slip ups
Umar Akmal suffers injury scare
Navaratne still in pursuit end of tenth count
Proteas tame high riding India
Buchanan and Moody among those seeking the Lankan position
Tendulkar extends WC centuries record
It is thrilling to know that Sri Lanka is in the quarters
Science College cries foul play by Schools Rugby Association
Want to win the Cup? Don’t forget the fielding -- Sunday Musings
Brian Baptist to boost CH rugby
Mohamed not happy with IRB suspension
Jaffna Central record fifth successive win
Oshada guides St. Sebastian’s
Another reminder by Chandimal
Marso’s vision to bring Police rugby back to its glory days
Aney Is It True with Nam
Zims were never a big threat to confident Lanka -- Take Another Look At Cricket
Please can someone tell us who is responsible? -- Rugby Talk


Reproduction of articles permitted when used without any alterations to contents and a link to the source page.
© Copyright 1996 - 2011 | Wijeya Newspapers Ltd.Colombo. Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved | Site best viewed in IE ver 8.0 @ 1024 x 768 resolution