Pera Snr, Mahanama and Vidyartha in front

Peradeniya Senior, Mahanama and Vidyartha were to the fore on the first day of the Central Province Schools Boxing Championships at the George E. de Silva Park open-air meet.

Stubbs Shield winners St. Sylvester’s and Trinity are notable absentees. The meet is held in three divisions. The Derrick Gunasinghe Memorial Trophy will be awarded to the winners of the 17-25 age group and the S.B. Kiridena Memorial Trophy to the winners of the 17-34 age group. In addition, the most scientific boxer will receive the Central Province Governor’s Cup.

44-46 Kgs: D. Bandara (Pilimatalawa) bt S. Gunatunga (Peradeniya)
48051 Kgs: U.R. Rajapakse (Pilimatalawa) bt A. Dissanaike (Mahanama)

37-39 Kgs: M. Attanayake (Vidyartha) bt E.Wimalaratne (Dheerananda); A.S. Thuduwewatte (Pilimatalawa) bt H. Madushan (Sarasavi Uyana).

46-48 Kgs: H.M. Herath (Vid) bt M. Sarfraz (Zahira Katugastota); K.D.Madushanka (Kingalla MV) bt D. Abeysinghe (Sarasavi Uyana); 51-54 Kgs: S. Nissanka (Vid) bt. H.M. Navaratne (Sarasavi Uyana); 48-51 Kgs: C. Thuduwewatte (Pilimatalawa) bt A.M. Shamal (Dharmaraja); A.S. Wickremasinghe (Peradeniya) bt D. Ratnayake (Vidyartha); S.S. Kodituwakku (Sri Rahula) bt O.K. Kumara (Wattegama); 48-51 Kgs (17-25 years): M.B.Basnayake (Dharmaraja BC) bt D. Kannangara (Vid BC); K. Madushan (Silverline BC) bt K. Navaratne (Pilimatalawa BC); S. Kalpage (Peradeniya BC) bt T.G, Gunasinghe (Mahanama BC); 51-54 Kgs: M. Wijeratne (Peradeniya BC) bt K.G. Jayaratne (Pilimatalawa BC); S.D.SDeneiratne (Kingswood BC) bt I. Eenas (Wattegama BC); 44-46 Kgs: P.M.Ranasinghe (Vid) bt G.V, Nanayakkara (Wattegama MV); U.L. Dhanushka (Mahanama) bt M. Marasinghe (Sarasavi Uyana); K.A.Jayawardena (Sri Rahula) bt H.S. Fernando (Kengalla MV); C.G. Rajawansa (Dheerananda) bt D. Bandara (Pilimatalawa) - AK

Top to the page  |  E-mail  |  views[1]
Other Sports Articles
WORLD CUP! We are down the wrong lane
Cricket drama takes another twist now
Players Association works Malinga deal
Ladies lasses rule the roost at Beira Lake
Six women boxers leave for Asian meet
Lanka A draws first blood
DSS settle for a draw
The changing phases of cricket
All fall down
"De Saram shoots Jayasinghe down" - Right of reply
Josephians celebrate Vaas’ fea
Skipper Hans and Navin put SSC on to
Pradeep to lead ‘sevens’ rugby squad to Hong Kon
Pera Snr, Mahanama and Vidyartha in front
Isipathana, St.Peter’s take a back seat
Air Force colour awards 2003 to 2006
Islandwide Tennis Promotion


Reproduction of articles permitted when used without any alterations to contents and a link to the source page.
© Copyright 2008 | Wijeya Newspapers Ltd.Colombo. Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.| Site best viewed in IE ver 6.0 @ 1024 x 768 resolution