SPC juniors emulate the seniors

The junior tennis players of St. Peter’s College Colombo emulated the performances of their senior players by becoming the All-Island Inter School Under-10 tennis champions at the tournament held at the Sri Lanka Tennis Association (SLTA) courts recently.

The St. Peter’s College junior tennis team with officials.

The Peterite senior teams have won the All-Island championship five times in a row.
In the recently concluded National School Tennis Tournament, the Peterites also took part without the services of their top seeded player Nishangan Nadaraja who was ruled out due to an illness. However they finished as runners-up after closely losing the battle in the final.

The future of Peterite tennis took part in the Under-10 tournament being seeded fourth in the competition behind favourites Ananda, S. Thomas’ and Royal. But they came through their group matches comfortably beating Ananda D. S. Senanayake MV, S. Thomas’ ‘B’ and Matale International School.

The champion team comprised of Kevin Assauw, Thevinda Piyadigama, Naveen Abeygooneratne, Derrick Rony Francis, Raveen Abeygooneratne, Luqman Mowjood, Disna Abeysiriwardena and Jordon Choksy. With this victory in 2011, the Peterites have won the Under-10 championship, been runners-up in the Under-13 championship, the champions of both Under-15 and 17 age category and third place in the Under-19 event. The Peterites are coached by Dinith Pathiraja and Kevin Markandarajah assists him while Bernard Jesuthasan is the master-in-charge. This tournament was organized by the SLTA in conjunction with the Old Anandians Tennis Wing and was sponsored by Bartleet Finance.

Top to the page  |  E-mail  |  views[1]
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend
Other Sports Articles
Cricket breaking petty barriers
Former Lankan Test cricketers feel DRS should have remained
What would have been for Wales
Local cricket contests formatted
Julian spins St. Peter's to easy innings win
The queen is scared
Leading with the right footing?
Disabled Malar finds a new world in Volleyball
Thangarajah takes title as Lankans make it three in-a-row
Mercantile Hockey Sevens Today
MAS clinch Merc Swimming title
Cooray leads Joes to Victory
Cambrians begin season on winning note
Zahira set to make strong comeback
Gurukula Kelaniya oozing with talent
‘Niko’, Clifford and 1974
Deaf Cricket Sixes on December 4
Richie Sappideen elected OWSC President
Malinga Amarasinghe wins Young Cricketer of the Year Award
SPC juniors emulate the seniors
Navy honours ‘Beach Games’ medal winners
Petes under 18 shuttle doubles champs


Reproduction of articles permitted when used without any alterations to contents and a link to the source page.
© Copyright 1996 - 2011 | Wijeya Newspapers Ltd.Colombo. Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved | Site best viewed in IE ver 8.0 @ 1024 x 768 resolution