Thangarajah takes title as Lankans make it three in-a-row

124th Sri Lanka Amateur Golf CHAMPIONships
N. Thangarajah in action.

It was another proud moment for Sri Lanka as N. Thangarajah beat all odds to emerge champion at the 124th Sri Lanka Amateur Golf Championships concluded at the Victoria Golf and Country Club turf last afternoon.

This means that Thangarajah has emulated his predecessors - K. Prabhagaran (2009) and Mithun Perera (2010). Both Prabhagaran and Perera have turned professional now. Thangarajah who completed his four rounds with scores of 73,73,72 and 71 (289) finished two under par while beating the more illustrious reigning Indian Amateur Champion S. Chikkarangappa who bagged the Indian title last year as well.

Thirty-year-old Thangarajah who had six birdies, two bogeys and a double bogey was leading by one stroke at the end of the first nine. Chikkarangappa who finished the course on par had a score 292.

The Sri Lanka Amateur Championship which is only preceded by the British Open had two man teams representing India, Pakistan, Bangladesh and Malaysia besides the hosts.

In joint third place was Sri Lanka's - N. Ranga and Bangladesh's M.D. Sajib Ali who finished with identical scores of 294. Vijitha Bandara, a stroke behind them at 295, took fifth place.

Top to the page  |  E-mail  |  views[1]
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend
Other Sports Articles
Cricket breaking petty barriers
Former Lankan Test cricketers feel DRS should have remained
What would have been for Wales
Local cricket contests formatted
Julian spins St. Peter's to easy innings win
The queen is scared
Leading with the right footing?
Disabled Malar finds a new world in Volleyball
Thangarajah takes title as Lankans make it three in-a-row
Mercantile Hockey Sevens Today
MAS clinch Merc Swimming title
Cooray leads Joes to Victory
Cambrians begin season on winning note
Zahira set to make strong comeback
Gurukula Kelaniya oozing with talent
‘Niko’, Clifford and 1974
Deaf Cricket Sixes on December 4
Richie Sappideen elected OWSC President
Malinga Amarasinghe wins Young Cricketer of the Year Award
SPC juniors emulate the seniors
Navy honours ‘Beach Games’ medal winners
Petes under 18 shuttle doubles champs


Reproduction of articles permitted when used without any alterations to contents and a link to the source page.
© Copyright 1996 - 2011 | Wijeya Newspapers Ltd.Colombo. Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved | Site best viewed in IE ver 8.0 @ 1024 x 768 resolution