Malinga Amarasinghe wins Young Cricketer of the Year Award

The CCC School of Cricket, founded by Nelson Mendis, a senior cricket coach in Sri Lanka, celebrated its 13th anniversary wit the Annual 8-A-Side Inter-House Cricket Tournament at the Thurstan College Grounds.

Malinga Amarasinghe of Jayasuriya House receiving the award for the Most Promising Young Cricketer of the Year from Upul Chandana.

Former Sri Lankan Test and ODI cricketer and present fielding coach of Sri Lanka Cricket, Upul Chandana was the chief guest at the concluding ceremony and gave away the awards.
Nelson Mendis, Director of Coaching, CCC School of Cricket in his address introduced the chief guest to the students who have not seen Upul Chandana in action as one of the greatest fielders the world has ever seen and a very useful all-rounder who has rendered great service to Sri Lanka Cricket. Mendis also presented a plaque to Upul Chandana is honour of his presence.

Jayasuriya House, who last, won championship honours in 2009 beat last year’s champions Bradman House and Tendulkar House who tied for the second place. Sobers House was placed fourth.
The following won individual awards at the tournament.

Under 8 – Akira Perera of Tendulkar House won Best Batsman, Best Bowler and Man of the Final awards.

Under 9 – Best Batsman: Thaha Hussain (Sobers), Best Bowler: Akira Prera (Tendulkar), Man of the Final: Akira Perera (Tendulkar).

Under 10 – Best Batsman: Yahqub Naveed , Best Bowler: Heshan Muthuthanthri, Man of the Final:Yahqub Naveed (all from Bradman).

Under 11 – Best Batsman: Movin Subasinghe, Best Bowler: Shavinka Fernando, Man of the Final: Movin Subasinghe (all from Sobers).

Under 12 – Best Bat: Asela Sigera (Jayasuriya), Best Bowler: Bisandu Ranasinghe (Bradman), Man of the Final: Asela Sigera (Jayasuriya).

Under 13 – Best Bat: Chanuka Bandara (Bradman), Best Bowler: Kavisha Kulatunga, Man of the Final: Krishan Raveendranathan (both from Jayasuriya).

Under 14 – Malinga Amarasinghe of Jayasuiriya House won all three awards – Best Batsman, Best Bowler and Man of the Final.

Under 15 – Best Batsman: Chandeepa Wimalaweera, Best Bowler: Chandeepa Wimalaweera, Man of the Final: Shihan Fernando (all from Jayasuriya).

Team Awards and Captains – Under 8: Akira Perera (Tendulkar), Under 9: Maoshada Fernando (Jayasuriya), Under 10: Bisandu Ranasinghe (Bradman), Under 11: Movin Subasinghe (Sobers), Under 12: Asela Sigera, Under 13: Krishikan Raveendranathan, Under 14: Malinga Amerasinghe, Under 15: Chandeepa Wimalaweera (all from Jayasuriya).

2011 Inter-House Championship: 1 – Jayasuriya winners 22 points; 2 – Tie Bradman and Tendulkar (runners-up); 4 – Sobers.

Most Promising Young Cricketer of the Year Award: Winner – Malinga Amarasinghe (Jayasuriya).

Top to the page  |  E-mail  |  views[1]
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend
Other Sports Articles
Cricket breaking petty barriers
Former Lankan Test cricketers feel DRS should have remained
What would have been for Wales
Local cricket contests formatted
Julian spins St. Peter's to easy innings win
The queen is scared
Leading with the right footing?
Disabled Malar finds a new world in Volleyball
Thangarajah takes title as Lankans make it three in-a-row
Mercantile Hockey Sevens Today
MAS clinch Merc Swimming title
Cooray leads Joes to Victory
Cambrians begin season on winning note
Zahira set to make strong comeback
Gurukula Kelaniya oozing with talent
‘Niko’, Clifford and 1974
Deaf Cricket Sixes on December 4
Richie Sappideen elected OWSC President
Malinga Amarasinghe wins Young Cricketer of the Year Award
SPC juniors emulate the seniors
Navy honours ‘Beach Games’ medal winners
Petes under 18 shuttle doubles champs


Reproduction of articles permitted when used without any alterations to contents and a link to the source page.
© Copyright 1996 - 2011 | Wijeya Newspapers Ltd.Colombo. Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved | Site best viewed in IE ver 8.0 @ 1024 x 768 resolution