Local cricket contests formatted

By S.R. Pathiravithana

The impasse between Sri Lanka Cricket's Cricket Committee and the Club Cricket authorities was amicably settled last Thursday with both sides agreeing to share the season between November and April.

Initially the SLC CC which contended that it is the Provincial Cricket tournament that is the most important tournament in the country and the tournament should take place during the January-April season. However the Club Cricket tournament was originally planned for the January-March season and there was no window for the Provincial tournament to be played during that season.

The SLC called up a meeting with Clubs last Wednesday and sought their views on a Provincial Cricket window during the top season or the two tournaments be played concurrently. The Club Cricket authorities initially opposed the move, but, opened out later on Thursday during the second meeting and agreed to pull back their tournament -the 50 overs and the three-day tournament to November and go on till early February.

Now the Premier Division Tier 'A' and 'B' Limited overs tournament will begin on 27 November and Go on till December. The final of the Tier 'B' will be played on December 10 while the Tier 'A' final will be played the following day.

The 3-day tournaments Tier 'A' and 'B' will begin on the 15 December and Finish on February 3, 2012 while the Provincial Cricket Tournament will begin on February 10 and finish by the first week of April, thus for the first time opening a formatted local cricket season. (Please also read Musings on Page 24)

Top to the page  |  E-mail  |  views[1]
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend
Other Sports Articles
Cricket breaking petty barriers
Former Lankan Test cricketers feel DRS should have remained
What would have been for Wales
Local cricket contests formatted
Julian spins St. Peter's to easy innings win
The queen is scared
Leading with the right footing?
Disabled Malar finds a new world in Volleyball
Thangarajah takes title as Lankans make it three in-a-row
Mercantile Hockey Sevens Today
MAS clinch Merc Swimming title
Cooray leads Joes to Victory
Cambrians begin season on winning note
Zahira set to make strong comeback
Gurukula Kelaniya oozing with talent
‘Niko’, Clifford and 1974
Deaf Cricket Sixes on December 4
Richie Sappideen elected OWSC President
Malinga Amarasinghe wins Young Cricketer of the Year Award
SPC juniors emulate the seniors
Navy honours ‘Beach Games’ medal winners
Petes under 18 shuttle doubles champs


Reproduction of articles permitted when used without any alterations to contents and a link to the source page.
© Copyright 1996 - 2011 | Wijeya Newspapers Ltd.Colombo. Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved | Site best viewed in IE ver 8.0 @ 1024 x 768 resolution