10 years of Excellence in Journalism Awards

The annual Excellence in Journalism Awards programme jointly organized by the Editors’ Guild of Sri Lanka together with the Sri Lanka Press Institute (SLPI) will hold its 10th anniversary with the 2008 Awards Night in July this year, the SLPI announced.

It says this programme is the premier industry based Journalism Awards event that recognizes excellence during a particular year, and rewards professionalism. It is open to all Journalists working for Sri Lankan newspapers.

Several Awards are presented after an extensive judging process by peers in the industry, the most prestigious of which is the Mervyn de Silva Journalist of the Year given in memory of the veteran editor of yesteryear, and the founding president of the Editors’ Guild.

Among the other Awards on offer are the D.R. Wijewardene Award for winning the appreciation of peers and the public, the Sepala Gunasena Award for defending press freedom, the Upali Wijewardene Feature Writer of the Year Award, the Subramaniam Chettiar Award for Social Reporting, the Prof. K. Kailasapathy Award for Reporting under difficult conditions, the Denzil Peiris Young Reporter of the Year Award, the Scoop of the Year Award, the Business Reporter of the Year Award, the Sports Journalist of the Year Award, the Best Photographer and Cartoonist Award, the Best Designed Newspaper Award, and from this year, a new award for Investigative Journalist of the Year.

Preliminary work towards the 2008 Awards Night has already been set in motion by a joint Organizing Committee co-chaired by Mr. Kumar Nadesen, Chairman, Sri Lanka Press Institute and Mr. Sinha Ratnatunga, President of the Editors Guild. Other members are Mr. Jatila Wellaboda, Editor Lakbima, Mr. R Prabaghan, Editor Virakesari, Mr. Kuruvita Bandara, Editor Siyatha, Mr. A. Dombagahawatte, Editor Sunday Lankadeepa, Mr. Siri Ranasinghe, Editor-in-chief Lankadeepa (in the absence of Mr. Upali Tennakoon, Editor Rivira), Mr. Manik De Silva, Editor Sunday Island, Ms. Sharmini Boyle, Editor in Chief YA TV, Mr. Waruna Karunatilleka, Reuters and Mr. Ranga Kalansuriya, DG, SLPI.

Top to the page  |  E-mail  |  views[1]
Other News Articles
UN split on Lankan issue
IMF team here today to hold talks on crucial loan
WHO experts here for Rubella probe
Presidential pardon bypasses legal process
Three Indian airports on alert after LTTE threat
A heritage house gets second chance
Garbage crisis growing by the day
People battle LTTE as troops close in
Batticaloa loses a father figure
Missing Buddha statues: HRC raps Buddhist Affairs Commissioner
Pillay visiting Nepal and India, not Lanka
TNA MP to back Govt.
Officials attacked for preventing illegal sand mining
Hedging: Central Bank tells SCB to show cause
Parliament to sit for extra session
Tissa against terrorism but for justice
Record numbers enter cleared areas
Patients suffer for lack of thyroxin
Come buy our air time: SLBC tells private sector
Health Ministry making every effort to contain chickenpox epidemic
Hunt on for child murder suspect
Rain water storage system for new buildings a must
AG’s office turns 125
Hope for desperate patients
Bank owed Rs.17 b
Crisis at Muslim Peace Secretariat
Jailors to be hauled up following union action
10 years of Excellence in Journalism Awards
Indian Army back in medical garb, but is Delhi losing grip on Lanka? - Exclusive


Reproduction of articles permitted when used without any alterations to contents and a link to the source page.
© Copyright 2008 | Wijeya Newspapers Ltd.Colombo. Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.| Site best viewed in IE ver 6.0 @ 1024 x 768 resolution