Mowjood holds on to his lead

Count 14
Royal allrounder Haroon Mowjood is in the lead once again over Thomian Naweed Ghany at the end of Count Number 14 of the Bata-The Sunday Times Most Popular All island Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year Contest.

At the end of this count Royalist Mowjood has stabilized his position at the top with 29,888 votes to his credit against the votes polled by Naweed Ghany which counts at 24,023.

Ishan Athureliya of Dharmapala is leading and is sitting pretty in the Outstation contest with 2925 votes to credit against Tissa MMV’s Dinesh Chathuranga who now has 1550 votes at the end of this count.
In the International contest, Asian International’s Aadhil Bakeer Markar is yet on top with 4548 votes. In the second place is Gateway International’s Malith Silva who has polled 3504 to his credit.

It also must be noted that the voters/contestants must refrain from submitting old coupons for counting. The organisers of this competition have decided to reject all such coupons.

The organizers also have decided that coupon number 17 will be the final in this segment of the competition. This coupon will appear in The Sunday Times of 6th July 2008 and will run in the other allied publications (the Daily Mirror and the daily Lankadeepa) till 10th July 2008. The winners of the Most Popular Schoolboy Cricketers of the year will be announced in The Sunday Times of 13th July 2008.

All Island Contest
Haroon Mawjood (Royal College) 29888
Naweed Ghany (S.Thomas’ College) 24023
Milan Fernando (S.Thomas’ College) 14041
Dimuth Karunaratne(St. Joseph's College) 4537
Udara Peiris (Ananda College) 2667
Rayan Kern (Wesley College) 2238
Navin Kavikara (D.S. Senanayake College) 2148
S.M.Ashan Priyanjana (Nalanda College) 871
Chirantha De Silva(Isipathana College) 577
Madawa Warnapura(Nalanda College) 465

Outstation Contest
Ishan Thilina Athuruliya (Dharmapala Vidyalaya) 2925
R.A.Dinesh Chaturanga
(Kalutara Tissa Vidyalaya) 1550
M.G.Thraka Dushantha (St.Thomas-Matara) 470
Rasika Dilan Bandaranaike (Vidyalaya-GMP) 310
Mohammed Feizal (St. Sylvester's) 243
Charitha Molligoda (Sri Sumangala –Panadura) 168
Malik Shamika (St. Francis, Kelaniya) 162
(Mahanama Navodaya MV, Panadura) 128
P.K.Srinath Janapriya
(Merril Kariyawasam MV) 126
Maduka Weerasinghe
(Vidyartha College-Kandy) 115
International Schools Contest
Adhil Bakeer Markar
(Asian International School) 4548
Malith Silva (Gateway International) 3504
Adel Niyaz (Gateway International) 476
M.N.M.Fayaz (Amal International) 83
Shaharan Jifrey -- (Asian International School) 20

Readers Prizes:
1. Pasindu Manodhara, 100/7, Veliveriya West, Veliveriya.
2. Ranjan Fernando, 222/A, Idama, Galle Road, Moratuwa.
3. Dhanuka Dharshana Mahanama, C2, G1, Himbutu Uyana Housing Scheme Mulleriyawa.

Top to the page  |  E-mail  |  views[1]


Other Sports Articles


Reproduction of articles permitted when used without any alterations to contents and a link to the source page.
© Copyright 2008 | Wijeya Newspapers Ltd.Colombo. Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.| Site best viewed in IE ver 6.0 @ 1024 x 768 resolution