Sixteen teams qualify to pre-quarter finals

Lemonade Trophy Super 17 Division 1
By M. Shamil Amit

The completion of the second round matches of the Lemonade Trophy Super 17 Division One inter-schools cricket tournament saw 16 teams qualify to the pre-quarter finals. The tournament conducted by the Sri Lanka Schools Cricket Association and sponsored by Elephant House Ltd (Lemonade) began with 75 teams divided into ten groups.

The second round matches were contested by 32 teams which were divided into eight groups. Royal Colombo (P), Wesley (Q), Sri Devananda Amblangoda (R), S. Thomas’ (S), Joseph Vaz Wennappuwa (T), St Peter’s (U), Trinity (V) and St Benedict’s (W) emerged leaders in their respective groups.
The runners up of the respective groups were Dharmasoka Ambalangoda, Lumbini MV, Thurstan, St Joseph’s, St Sebastian’s Moratuwa, Maliyadeva Kurunegala, Prince of Wales and Royal Panadura.
According to the tournament secratary Nishantha Kumara all the pre-quarter final matches has to be completed on or before August 31. Due to the time factor there will no extension dates.

The schedule pre-quarter finals are Royal Colombo vs Royal Panadura, Wesley vs Prince of Wales, Sri Devananda vs Maliyadeva, S. Thomas’ vs St Sebastian’s, Joseph Vaz vs St Joseph’s, St Peter’s vs Thurstan, Trinity vs Lumbini MV and St Benedict’s vs Dharmasoka.

The quarter finals are scheduled to be played on September 4, 5, 7 and 8 with the semi finals slotted to be played on September 16 and 19 and the final due to be played on September 25 at the CCC grounds.

Meanwhile the quarter finals of the Division Two tournament of the same age group got underway on August 26 with the match between St Peter’s Negombo and Wadduwa Central which was followed by the second match between St Peter’s Bambalapitiya ‘B’ and St Sebsatian’s ‘B’ yesterday.

The Under 17 Division Two tournament saw 38 teams divided into eight groups in the fray with 16 teams qualifying to the second round. Wadduwa Central, St Peter’s Bambalapitiya ‘B, Veluna MV Colombo and Anuradhpura Central emerged the group leaders.

Wadduwa Central, St Peter’s Negombo, St Peter’s Bambalapitiya ‘B’, St Sebastian’s Moratuwa ‘B’, Veluwana MV, Taxila Central Horana, Anuradhapura Central, and St Sebastian’s Katuneriya qualified to the quarter finals.

The other two quarter finals will be played today and tomorrow with Veluwana MV Colombo meeting Taxila Central Horana and Anuradhapura Central contesting St Sebastian’s Katuneriya.

The two semi finals are scheduled to be played on September 9 and 12 with the final slotted to be played on September 23 at the CCC grounds. Last year St Peter’s ‘A’ and ‘B’ emerged champions in the Division One and Two with Trinity and St John’s being the runners up.

Top to the page  |  E-mail  |  views[1]
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend
Other Sports Articles
Malinga likely to come out of Test retirement
Get the best weapons and go to battle against Aussies
Sixteen teams qualify to pre-quarter finals
Changes for the better — need of the hour
They’re lost in the (rugby) masquerade
Thirimanne hits ton in drawn game
Right Royal victory
Gajaba Supercross today
Java Lane fight back to hold New Youngs
Bolgoda rowing at bigger scale this year
How the mighty fall
Chilaw Marians and Air Force in strong position
Sri Lanka lose both games at Shanghai Rugby sevens
Navy and Army on line to meet in final
Isipathana, Trinity and Dharmaraja best bets
SABG running on quarter funds
Corry set to boost Navy rugby
Jayasuriya Academy emerge Champions
Royal and Musaeus grab TT honours
Is Sri Lanka ready to take up the coming challenges in athletics?
Riddle me this …..
Danushka Ranjan to lead Under 18 Youth Rugby Team


Reproduction of articles permitted when used without any alterations to contents and a link to the source page.
© Copyright 1996 - 2011 | Wijeya Newspapers Ltd.Colombo. Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved | Site best viewed in IE ver 8.0 @ 1024 x 768 resolution