Olcott Cricket tourney draws to a close today

The Henry Steel Olcott Cricket Tournament which we initiated in 1999 has gone from strength to strength during the last 10 years and has now become a national event.

The Old Dharmapalian’s Sports Club (ODSC), the organizers of this event are proud that they have been able to bring this contest to such a height.

On the successful completion of its first round the ODSC is now in the process of staging the third tournament the finals of which will be held today (December 6) at the Dharmapala College Grounds.
This popular cricketing event was named after Sir Henry Steele Olcott in appreciation of his services to education in Sri Lanka. The eight participating schools are: Ananda, Nalanda, Maliyadeva, Dharmaraja, Dharmapala, Dharmasoka, Rahula, and Mahinda.

The present First - X1 teams of these colleges played a six a side tournament on the first day. On the second and third days a 12 over’s per side matches are arranged on a knock out basis. A separate six a side tournament is arranged for the losing teams of the first round and these matches will be played concurrently on the second and third day.

A trophy was presented to the winners of the First XI teams at the end of their tournament on the first day. ‘The Olcott Challenge Trophy’ and other awards will be presented at the end of the third day for the winners of the Old Boys tournament.

Former national players Arjuna Ranathunga, Bandula Warnapura, Sidath Wettamuni, Roshan Mahanama, Brendan Kuruppu, Keerthi Gunaratna, Jayantha Senewiratne, Gajaba Pitigala, G S Ratnayake, R Madurusinghe, S Guruge, J C Gamage, Gamini Perera, WL Withanage, Senaka Angulugaha, HN Premasiri, J Warnaweera, TB Kehelgamuwa are expected to participate in the old boys cricket tournament.

Past winners of this tournament:
1999 - Maliyadeva Old Boys;
2000 - Dharmaraja Old Boys;
2001- Dharmasoka Old Boys;
2002 - Ananda Old Boys & Dharmasoka Old boys (Joint Champs);
2003 - Ananda Old Boys & Dharmasoka Old boys (Joint Champs);
2004 - Dharmasoka Old Boys;
2005 - Maliyadeva Old Boys & Dharmasoka Old Boys (Joint Champs);
2006 - Dharmapala Old Boys;
2007 - Dharmapala Old Boys;
2008 -Dharmasoka College Old Boys

Top to the page  |  E-mail  |  views[1]
Other Sports Articles
There is a vote for barter
Spinners Maduka and Nadeera guide Sri Lanka
Lessons from Carlton sevens
Looking over the fence
Aney Is It True ?
Olcott Cricket tourney draws to a close today
Cyril Antony clinic on Dec 13
Foreign teams in action at CCC Junior tourney
Fei Quan Do students tested for their skills
Sunday Sports Guide
Rajans under 13 ‘B’ team in round 2
Prabhagaran learnt his golf from his Grandpa
No sweat for Hareen
Looking down the barrel
Referral system in test cricket a must - Murali
Woods is still a premier attraction
Norman supports future of OneAsia Tour
Vaughan aims to bowl over art world
Mandela sends greetings to glittering WC
Springbok flank Heinrich Brüssow eye was gouged
Rugby World Cup ticket prices unveiled
Aussies wrest initiative
India-Sri Lanka T20 tickets up for sale
Tennis Association picks National Pool
Jeewantha slams second successive ton
Shashika, Chandana, Pushpakumara and Rohana record wins


Reproduction of articles permitted when used without any alterations to contents and a link to the source page.
© Copyright 2009 | Wijeya Newspapers Ltd.Colombo. Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.| Site best viewed in IE ver 6.0 @ 1024 x 768 resolution