Upsets order of the day
By Aubrey Kuruppu

Upsets were the order of the day at the All Island Ranking Table Tennis Championships conducted by The Kandy District Table Tennis Association at the Peradeniya University Gymnasium. Long-standing Deepika Rodrigo and KST Chalitha won the open events, while Deepika and Sajith Priyadarshana claimed the most outstanding player awards.

Sajith Priyadarshana provided most of the shocks beating Rohan Sirisena in the pre-quarters finals, Sukhita Wickramanayake in the quarters and Nirmala Jayasinghe in the semis. But he met his match in the final where Chalitha came from behind to clinch the title.

Deepika Rodrigo too had to shake off a stiff challenge from Ishara Madurangi before triumphing in the open event. The talented Ishara Madurangi was beaten by Nirmani Silva of Girls' High School in the quarter finals of the under-21 event. Nirmani's euphoria was indeed short-linked, as Maliyadeva's Ruhansi Wijekoon beat her in the final of the under-21 event.

Boys' Events
Under 10 Supun Warusavitharne (Dharmasoka) beat Udaya Ranasinghe (Vidyantha) 12/10, 9/11, 11/7
Under 12 Nuwantha Niroshana (Dharmasoka) beat K. Hendahewa (Royal) 11/7, 11/9, 11/5.
Under 15 Supun Sirisena (Maliyadeva) beat Malith Dilusha (Dharmasoka) 3/11, 12/10, 11/8, 15/13.
Under 18 Hasintha Sashiranga (Dharmasoka) beat Chatura Viskam (Devananda) 9/11, 11/9, 11/6, 11/6.
Under 21 Chatura Viskam (Devanada) beat Sukhita Wickremanayake (Dharmaraja) 11/2, 11/8, 11/5.

Girls' Events
Under 10 Mutumali Priyadharshana (Devananda) beat Ridmi Kangaraarachchi (Maliyadewa) 11/7, 6/11, 11/9
Under 12 Umaya Tharaki (Dharmasoka) beat Kushani Ransara (Dharmasoka) 11/7, 11/8, 11/5.
Under 15 Nuwani Navodya (Dharmasoka) beat Tharunya Sashini (Devandanda) 11/9, 9/11, 11/9, 11/8
Under 18 Ishara Madurangi (Devananda) beat Tharunya Sashini (Devananda) 11/8, 11/4, 11/4.
Under 21 Ruhansi Wijekoon (Maliyadewa) beat Nirmani Silva (G.H.S) 11/9, 11/8, 5/11, 11/7

Open Events:
Men's Singles: KST Chalitha beat Sajith Piyadarshana 7/11, 11/8, 8/11, 5/11, 11/8, 11/6, 11/5.
Women's Singles: Deepika Rodrigo beat Ishara Madurangi 12/10, 8/11, 7/11, 11/8, 7/11, 11/5, 11/4
Men's Doubles: Nuwan Sampath and Indika Prasad beat Buddika Walagampola and S. Rajitha 11/5, 11/2, 12/10
Women's Doubles: Deppika Rodirigo and Ruhansi Wijekoon beat Srimali Wimalaratne and V. Udagedera 11/8, 11/9, 6/11, 11/6
Master's Singles: Dr. Nirmal Lucas beat Chaminda Rodrigo. -AK

Top to the page  |  E-mail  |  views[1]
Other Sports Articles
The day of reckoning
Gearing up for Cricket Elections
De Saram shoots Jayasinghe down
A boost for Ruhuna rugby
Veteran broadcaster Palitha Perera unveils his experiences
Upsets order of the day
Lasallian Junior Basketball from Sep 17
Visakha wins gold
Kumara and Pushpakumara to compete in Beijing today
The Lankan Test Cricket predicament
Lessons to learn from Kandy sevens
Police clinch title
Colts looking for early outright
Amal and Jehan hammer the hapless Hong Kong
Naeem saves Bangladesh CA
Sticks galore at striker semis
STC open with innings win
A record number of entries
Royal past cricketers host show for funds


Reproduction of articles permitted when used without any alterations to contents and a link to the source page.
© Copyright 2008 | Wijeya Newspapers Ltd.Colombo. Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.| Site best viewed in IE ver 6.0 @ 1024 x 768 resolution