SSC crushed Sri Lanka Ports Authority CC by 8 wickets with a day to spare in the in the Premier league cricket encounter which ended at the SSC grounds yesterday. When play ended on day one SSC had already taken a first inning lead. They were in a strong position after the first session of [...]

The Sundaytimes Sri Lanka

SSC gallops to crush SLPA with a day to spare

Premier League Cricket

SSC crushed Sri Lanka Ports Authority CC by 8 wickets with a day to spare in the in the Premier league cricket encounter which ended at the SSC grounds yesterday.

When play ended on day one SSC had already taken a first inning lead. They were in a strong position after the first session of play on the second day and had SLPA, batting the second time, struggling for survival.

The SLPA batsmen failed miserably as they put the SSC bowling pair of spinner Sachithra Senanayake and pacie Dhammika Prasad on top. Some rash batting saw them going down meekly as Sachithra, who had his second five wicket haul of the match to end with a match bag of 10 for 53, and Dhammika combined to skittle them out for a meager 144.

SSC left with a simple run chase of 89 runs for victory reached the target with the minimum of fuss in the 22nd over to record their first outright win.

An unbeaten career best knock of 200 by Asela Gunaratne was the highlight of the second day’s play in the match between Badureliya SC and Army SC played at the Surrey Village ground in Maggona.

Colts batsman Milinda Siriwardena goes defensive during his knock of 77 against NCC - Pic by Ranjith Perera

Asela’s knock which came off just 170 balls included 22 boundaries and five sixes helping Army SC resuming on their overnight score of 135 for 2 to amass a massive score of 494 in reply to Badureliya SC’s 179 and in the process take a first inning lead.

A fine knock of 117 in only 113 balls with ten boundaries and four sixes by Kusal Perera helped Colts take a first inning lead over NCC in the match played at the NCC ground.

Kusal was involved in two fruitful partnerships first of 55 runs with Nisal Randika for the second wicket and the other of 135 runs for the third wicket with Milinda Siriwardena enabling them resuming on their overnight score of nine for no loss end day on 352 for 8.

The opening day’s proceedings saw NCC being invited to take first lease of the wicket being spearheaded by Farveez Maharoof who made a knock of 104 and with support from Upul Tharanga and Sandun Weerakkody making a score of 332.

In fact NCC was in good position with the score on 282 for 6 before left-arm spinner Sachith Pathirana, who ended with a four wicket haul, stemmed a collapse by taking the last four wickets to fall.

An unbroken 114 runs stand for the third wicket between Shehan Jayasuriya who made 108 and Harsha Cooray enabled Moors SC to end the second day’s proceedings making 264 for 6 against CCC in the match played at the CCC grounds.

The morning session of play saw CCC, resuming on their overnight score of 282 for 9, adding a further 20 runs before being bowled out for 302 with Lasith Abeyratne and Indika de Saram making half tons.

Bloomfield was able to take a slender first inning lead over Tamil Union thanks to half tons by Primosh Perera and Suraj Randiv in the match played at Reid Avenue.

Bloomfield in reply Tamil Union’s 235 resuming on their overnight score of 67 for 2 underwent some anxious before Suraj who made an unbeaten 72 came to their rescue.

The match between Panadura SC and Chilaw Marians was poised for an interesting finish when play gets underway on the final day today. Chilaw Marians after conceding a first lead to the home team fought back to be in contention for an outright win.
At SSC: SSC beat SLPA by 8 wkts

SLPA CC 128 (Yohan de Silva 19, Tyrone Gamage 27 n.o.: Sachithra Senanayake 5 for 25, Chathupama Gunasinghe 3 for 45) and 144 (Shantha Kalavitigoda 48, Sachithra Serasinghe 31: Sachithra Senanayake 5 for 28, Dhammika Prasad 4 for 26)

SSC 184 (Tharanga Paranavithana 59, Upul Bandara 45, Dhanushka Gunatilleke 23: Isuru Udana 7 for 58, Chaminda Bandara 2 for 49) and 89 for 2 (Dhanushka Gunatileke 19, Vishwa Wijeratne 26 n.o., Dasun Shanaka 21 n.o.: Chaminda Bandara 2 for 28)
At Maggona

Badureliya SC 179 (Janishka Premasinghe 34, Prasad Dias 27, Greg Smith 25, Saman Jayantha 25, Chanaka Withanage 24, Imesh Udayanga 15: Seekkuge Prasanna 3 for 70, Shalika Karunanayake 2 for 22, Nuwan Liyanapathirana 2 for 34) and 92 for 3 (Chanaka Withanage 33, Greg Smith 19, Michael Richardson 34 n.o.)

Army SC (135/2 overnight) 494 (Mohamed Feshal 70, Leo Fransisco 42, Ravindra Palleguruge 42, Manjula de Zoysa 38, Nuwan Liyanapathirana 33, Chathura Damith 17, Asela Gunaratne 200 n.o.: Thilan Thushara 3 for 72, Vikum Sanjaya 3 for 92, Navin Kavikara 2 for 126)


NCC 332 (Farveez Maharoof 104, Upul Tharanga 77, Sandun Weerakkody 66, Kosala Kulasekera 48: Sachith Pathirana 4 for 67, Thisara Perera 2 for 33)

Colts (9/0 overnight) 352 for 8 (Kusal Perera 117, Milinda Siriwardena 77, Angelo Jayasinghe 23, Thisara Perera 19, Kanishka Alvitigala 39 n.o., Akila Dhananjaya 27 n.o.: Chaminda Vidanapathirana 5 for 89, Sohan Boralessa 2 for 142)


CCC (282/9 overnight) 302 (Lasith Abeyratne 71, Indika de Saram 57, Hasantha Fernando 49, Chathuranga Kumara 35, Chamara Silva 17, Maduka Liyanapathiranage 15: Malinda Pushpakumara 5 for 121, Dilhara Lokuhettige 4 for 34)

Moors SC 264 for 8 (Shehan Jayasuriya 108, Harsha Cooray 89, Chathuranga de Silva 16: Lakshan Rangika 2 for 48, Maduka Liyanapathiranage 2 for 82)

At Reid Avenue

Tamil Union 235 (T.N. Sampath 57, Ashen Silva 33, Denuwan Rajakaruna 27, Rumesh Buddika 22, Jeewan Mendis 21, Pulina Tharanga 32 n.o.: Suraj Randiv 3 for 46, Amila Aponso 3 for 57, Adeesha Nanayakkara 2 for 16) and 177 for 6 (Ashen Silva 59, T.N. Sampath 35, Ramith Rambukwella 22, T.M. Dilshan 16, Denuwan Rajakaruna 22 n.o.: Suraj Randiv 4 for 43)

Bloomfield (67/2 overnight) 242 (Primosh Perera 65, Nipun Karunanayake 28, Suminda Mendis 16, Madawa Warnapura 15, Suraj Randiv 72 n.o.: Jeewan Mendis 5 for 60, Chanaka Welagedera 2 for 74)

At Panadura

Panadura SC 263 (Sasheen Fernando 92, Supeshala Jayatilleke 54, Susantha Pradeep 32, Dinuk Wickramanayake 22: Upul Indrasiri 5 for 82, Saliya Saman 3 for 46) and 98 (Sasheen Fernando 23, Amila Wettasinghe 23, Dinuk Wickramanayake 20: Upul Indrasiri 5 for 35, Saliya Saman 3 for 28)

Chilaw Marians (23/0 overnight) 187 (Umesh Karunaratne 73, Geeth Alwis 35, Saliya Saman 20, Vidura Adikari 17: Supeshala Jayatilleke 3 for 4, Gayan Sirisoma 2 for 58) and 11 for 2


Share This Post


Advertising Rates

Please contact the advertising office on 011 - 2479521 for the advertising rates.