Tea Traders win 20/20 thriller

Colombo Tea Traders emerged champions at the Tea Traders Association 20/20 Cricket
Tea Traders Association Colombo defeating Planters in the final at the SSC Grounds.

Colombo Tea Traders invited Calcutta Tea Traders and Guwahati Tea Traders along with the Sri Lanka Planters for the quadrangular sports festival which included cricket, golf, tennis, badminton and squash.

The Colombo Tea Traders Association spearheaded by former Royal, CH and Sri Lanka rugby flanker Brian Baptist have been invited to Calcutta next year to continue this quadrangular.

The Colombo Tea Traders (CTT) cricket XI was skippered by former Trinity College/SSC and Sri Lanka poolist Samanthe Dodanwela and had the services of Sri Lanka cap, Nuwan Soyza, Priyan de Silva, Gihan Fernando, Menuka Keenawinna, Sujeewa Sinnathamby, Ruma Nanayakkara, Chamara Dissanayake,Shehan Fernando, Deshan Bandaranayake and Shiranga Dissakarunarathne for the encounter against the Calcutta Tea Traders whom they beat in the semi-finals.After this triumph the Colombo Tea Traders went on to beat the Sri Lanka Planters in the final.

The highlight of the final was the opening stand of 163 runs between Nuwan Soyza and Rukman Nanayakkara before they departed. Nuwan Soyza was in great form hitting 103 which included nine sixers and an equal number of boundaries in just 34 balls. Rukman Nanayakkara had 13 hits to the ropes and four sixers in his 100.

CTTA beat Calcutta in the semi-final
Calcutta 116 for 6 in 20 overs (N. Raziz 45, M. Mathuwanna 27; Nuwan Soyza 2 for 18)
CTTA 117 for 4 (Prian De Silva 53 n.o, Gihan Fernando 31)
CTTA beat Planters in the final
CTTA 234 for 2 in 20 overs (Nuwan Soyza 103, R. Nnayakkara 100 n.o, Gihan Fernando 23 n.o)
Planters XI 142 (G. Perera 15, D. Bandara 25, D. Kurukuklasooriya 20; Menuka Keenawinne 2 for 27, Rikas Mohammed 2 for 10)
Other events: Badminton semi-finals – Planters beat Calcutta and CTTA beat Guwahati.
Final CTTA beat Planters 2-1 (Upendra De Silva and Rasika Perera beat Lalindra Abeywardena and Chamith Arthur); Rohan Weerakoon and Nihan Weerakoon beat Step[hen Thuring and Mahinda Karunanayake; J. Wanniarachchi and V.A.T. Indika beat Nimal Hewawasam and Chandra Weerasinghe.
Tennis: CTTA beat Calcutta 2-1
Sanjaya Herath and Chamika De Silva (CTTA) beat Kavi Seth and K. Ashok (Calcutta) 6/2, 2/6, 6/0; S. Uthap and G. Bhoopal (Calcutta) beat Chula De Alwia and Mansoor Akbarally (CTTA) 6/0, 6/2; Sanjaya Karunaratne and Ranga Pullakody (CTTA) beat A. Poddar and S. Raj (Calcutta) 6/0, 6/2.
Golf: CTTA beat Calcutta and Guwahati
Squash: Calcutta beat CTTA 2-1 (Stephen Turing beat Vije Jagannath; Kavi Seth beat Kushani Daluwatte; Rohit Johar beat Hiran Siriwardena.

Top to the page  |  E-mail  |  views[1]
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend
Other Sports Articles
Former All Blacks skipper Tana Umanga as Guest player
Aney is It True?
Cricket main hope for medal success
Supeshala, Dinal and Rosco guide Joes to victory
Sugathadasa stadium construction halted over stalled bid
Rugby referees are not satisfied with ‘peanuts’
Prasanna looks to flex muscles more next year
No shocks at Mercantile Rugby Sevens
SLC secy says grounds will be ready to deadline
A day full of upsets
Welcome Sammy we need you here
Shaping the sevens crystal
It was raining sixes in Hong Kong
These dollies are no Molly Pitchers
Army XV for Cobra Tens
Team man Ravi has sports in his heart
Amal’s cricketing exploits were simply fantastic
Tea Traders win 20/20 thriller
Handball training in Galle
OJSC office bearers for the year 2010/11

Reproduction of articles permitted when used without any alterations to contents and a link to the source page.
© Copyright 2010 | Wijeya Newspapers Ltd.Colombo. Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.| Site best viewed in IE ver 6.0 @ 1024 x 768 resolution