APSL essay contest: Showcasing young talent islandwide

The APSL-Award ceremony of the Island-wide Essay Competition organized by the Association of Professional Sri Lankans (APSL) in the United Kingdom will be held on July 30 at the Institute of Fundamental Studies in Kandy. The ceremony will be held in conjunction with the "Solar Asia 2011" international conference.

The essay competition was launched in September, last year to engage students and public with the government in the rapid development of the country. The submission of essays was closed on December 31, 2010, and 106 essays were received from 19 districts. After the first round of assessment by the National Institute of Education (NIE) in Sri Lanka, 20 selected essays were sent to APSL-UK for second stage assessment. Each essay was marked by at least three examiners and the winners were selected by a professional examination board on June 18, 2011.

The eight final winners are:

English essay - Shehan Mohammed (St. Sylvester's College, Kandy). Tamil essays - Thamodhiram Ghaanaroobini (Sri Ganesha Tamil Maha Vidyalayam, Koslanda), Fatima Hasna (St. Joseph Balika Maha Vidyalaya, Kegalle) and V. Kobishanth (St. Sylvester's College, Kandy).

Sinhala essays - Eshani Ekanayake and Muthumali Wijendra (both from Ibbagamuwa Central College, Kurunegala), Eshani Hettiarachchi (D.S. Senanayake Jathika Pasela, Meerigama, Gampaha) and Maduranga Talakotuna (Vijitha Madya Maha Vidyalaya, Pulasthigama, Polonnaruwa) Each winner will be awarded Rs.10,000, a trophy and a certificate.

The 12 runners-up are:

English essays - Imalka Gunaratne and Nelumika Gunawardana (both from St. Anthony's Girls' College, Kandy).

Tamil essay - Mohammed Aathif and Mohammed Fashan (both from Islahiyyah Arabic College, Madampe), Kulendran Anujan (Tamil Madya Maha Vidyalaya, Vavuniya) and S Nirosha (Sri Ganesha Tamil Maha Vidyalayam, Koslanda).

Sinhala essay - Samudra Hemamali (Magama Maha Vidyalaya, Tissamaharamaya, Hambantota), Kaushala Jayaweera (Prajapathi Gothami Balika Maha Vidyalaya, Ambalangoda), Sandamali Kumaratunga (Udagama Maha Vidyalaya, Ratnapura), Roshini Kumari (Gamini Jathika Pasela, Nuwara Eliya), Hansika Peiris (Sri Sumangala Balika Maha Vidyalaya, Panadera) and Madhubhashini Wimalaratne (Eheliyagoda M. Maha Vidyalaya, Ratnapura)

Each runner-up will be awarded the APSL "motivation certificate" and a consolation prize of Rs. 2,500 via the post through the Institute of Research and Development (IRD) office in Colombo.

The print media sponsors of the essay competition are the Sunday Times, the Lankadeepa and the Virakesari.

Top to the page  |  E-mail  |  views[1]
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend
Other Plus Articles
Saviour of Sinharaja
Gentle giants and babes at the mercy of roaring ‘yakada yakas
Letters to the Editor
The Colombo Plan at 60
Why humankind cannot bear too much reality
Did Christianity exist in ancient Sri Lanka?
C’mon fellows this is ‘Art’ or is it?
Amaradeva the lure of a Maestro
Stone walls belie welcoming interior
Colombo culinary and all that’s chic
A batik shop that has blossomed into a welcoming hotel
The dazzling dozen
APSL essay contest: Showcasing young talent islandwide
People and events


Reproduction of articles permitted when used without any alterations to contents and a link to the source page.
© Copyright 1996 - 2011 | Wijeya Newspapers Ltd.Colombo. Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved | Site best viewed in IE ver 8.0 @ 1024 x 768 resolution