Justice to be streamlined

By Chandani Kirinde

The Government will shortly create five new judicial zones aimed at revamping the administration of the justice system in the provinces and clearing the backlog of cases.Justice and Legal Reforms Minister Milinda Moragoda will shortly gazette the re-demarcation of the judicial zones and the setting up of new High Courts, District Courts and Magistrate’s Courts in terms of the powers vested him under the Judicature Act.

The changes are based on the findings of the Cabinet appointed de-limitation committee on judicial zones headed by former Supreme Court Judge Nissanka Udalagama recommending the re-demarcation of the judicial zones.

The committee had studied information gathered from various police stations as well as over 1400 Grama Niladhari divisions to arrive at the decision. The Committee also invited proposals from various associations representing the legal profession and the Sri Lanka Bar Association.

The Committee also examined the nature of the court cases pending before the courts and the distance people have to travel from their respective villages to attend a court session. The Committee also found that there are numerous problems faced by the Police with regard to the jurisdiction which need to be addressed effectively.

Accordingly five High Courts will be set up in Kilinochchi. Tangalle, Matale, Nuwara Eliya and Kuliyapitiya, the Sunday Times learns. The new District Courts will be set up in Baddegama, Morawaka, Teldeniya, Dambulla, Walapane, Kebetigollawa, Kekirawa, Hingurakgoda, Mahiyanganaya, Valaichcheni, Mutur, Kilinochchi, Mullaitivu and Minuwangoda.

Twenty one new Magistrate Courts will also be set up in Udugama, Deiyandara, Angunukolapelessa, Galagedera, Naula, Walapane, Hingurakgoda, Passara, Mahiyangana, Siyambalanduwa, Nikaweratiya, Polgahawela, Anamaduwa, Mirigama, Mahara, Ja-ela, Kolonnawa, Beruwala, Lahugala, Kilinochchi and Mullaitivu.

In addition to these ten new circuit courts will be set up in Kotmale, Padaviya, Bakamuna, Haldumulla, Thanamalwila, Agalawatta, Panama, Kuchchaveli, Velanai and Hanguranketa.

Top to the page  |  E-mail  |  views[1]
Other News Articles
IDPs: India pressurizes Govt.
Pillayan-Karuna clash intensifies in East
Police powers for FEB officials
Nude pics to embarrass Lanka: CID
Ranil reiterates gold charge
Calls to halt animal sacrifices
New laws urged to save sacrificial animals
Upcountry flower now blooms in Puttalam
Working girl charges female cops with sexual harassment
ICC Trophy will see hot betting on top batting
Threats force Elder to leave Lanka early
PM leads delegation to New York for UN General Assembly
Police inaction in face of growing violence, say polls monitors
Waiting in hope
Trial of school principal to go ahead
Eid festival tomorrow
Cruel seas
SriLankan Airlines boosts Italian sector
US is not perfect, but committed to promote rights and freedom
Exposing an exposition -- the Sunday Times INSIGHT
The GSP Plus report: Could we have done it better?
IMF team to meet the media
Solheim suffers setback
Another doctorate for the President
Uncertainty in tourism industry
Justice to be streamlined
Odds and Ends
Relocated IDPs yet to reach home: UN report
Don’t blame the West, fight for GSP Plus, Karu tells Govt.
Furnace oil crisis: CPC may blacklist supplier
Estate deal divides trade unions


Reproduction of articles permitted when used without any alterations to contents and a link to the source page.
© Copyright 2009 | Wijeya Newspapers Ltd.Colombo. Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.| Site best viewed in IE ver 6.0 @ 1024 x 768 resolution