Right arm spinner Priyamal Perera wrecked the late order batting of D.S. Senanayake College to give St. Joseph’s a thrilling four run win in their Under 19 inter-school cricket encounter concluded at Darley Road yesterday. DSS chasing 238 runs for victory was sitting pretty with the score on 222 for 4 when Priyamal came into [...]

The Sundaytimes Sri Lanka

Priyamal wrecks DSS to give St. Joseph’s a thrilling win

Under 19 Cricket

Right arm spinner Priyamal Perera wrecked the late order batting of D.S. Senanayake College to give St. Joseph’s a thrilling four run win in their Under 19 inter-school cricket encounter concluded at Darley Road yesterday. DSS chasing 238 runs for victory was sitting pretty with the score on 222 for 4 when Priyamal came into action as DSS lost their remaining six wickets for the addition of only ten runs.

In the run chase DSS were given a solid start by openers Thimila Vidyasekera Kavin Bandara who put on a quick fire 84 runs in just 72 balls before Thimila was dismissed. Kavin continued to torment the Joes bowling but he found his waterloo after he had made a valuable contribution of 68 in only 55 balls which included ten boundaries and a six and was the third to be out with DSS on 124 for 3.
Later Shifran Muthaliph continued the good work by the top order batsmen as he along with Akeel Inham added 74 runs for the fifth wicket before Shifran at this stage became the first of the three victims of Priyamal. Following that dismissal DSS lost three quick wickets for the addition of only two runs and slid to 224 for 8.

Nimesha Munasinghe of St. Anthony’s desperately tries to make a run duirng his side’s meagre first innings reply of 99 against Wesley’s 175 at Campbell Park. - Pic by Amila Gamage

DSS from there on having added nine runs and lost their remaining two wickets of which the last wicket was a run out with Geeth Perera attempting his second run failed to reach the crease to give the Darley Road boys who almost from a losing position a thrilling and well deserving victory.

Priyamal ended with top figures of 6 for 69 and was supported right arm spinner Aravinda Akurugoda who bagged three scalps.
President’s College Rajagiriya recorded a massive innings and 289 runs win over S. de. S. Jayasinghe MMV Dehiwela in their Under 19 inter-school cricket encounter concluded at Rajagiriya yesterday.

President’s Rajagiriya resuming on their overnight score of 318 for 4 went on to amass a mammoth score of 507 for 9 declared which came on the back of three centuries by Malsha Jayawardena 121 inclusive of nine boundaries and half a dozen sixes, Disala Weeratunge 111 with 11 boundaries and an unbeaten 105 by Navod Kalansuriya in only 69 balls which had nine boundaries and seven sixes.S. de S. Jayasinghe MMV who was shot out for 75 in the first innings batting the second time with a massive deficit of 432 runs succumbed to the bowling attack of skipper Mohamed Halan and Chandeepa Wimalaweera who shared eight wickets as they were able to muster only 143 runs.

Isipathana registered taken a first inning win over Zahira in the match played at Maradana. Isipathana having made 271 on day one restricted the Zahirians resuming on their overnight score of 82 for 4 for a score of 260. Isipathana batting the second time ended the day on 119 for 4.

Wesley too secured a first inning win over St. Anthony’s Katugastota at Campbell Park. Wesley resuming on their overnight score of 133 for 4 went on to make a score of 175 in reply to St. Anthony’s score of 99. The Antonians batting the second time fared better to finish the day on 233 for 7.

St. Joseph’s skipper Dylan Fernandopulle hit 50 runs in the second innings against DSS in the game they won. - Pic by Ranjith Perera

At Rajagiriya

S. de S. Jayasinghe MMV 75 (S. Sameera 35, P. Sasanka 20: Mohamed Halan 5 for 16, Chandeepa Wimalaweera 4 for 10) and 143 (M. Peiris 43, I. Kuruwita 27, S. Sameera 16: Mohamed Halan 5 for 58, Chandeepa Wimalaweera 3 for 56, Nethmina Kodippili 2 for 9)
President’s Rajagiriya (318/4 overnight) 507 for 9 declared (Malsha Jayawardena 121, Kanishka Perera 37, Disala Weeratunge 111, Kanishka Perera 37, Mohamed Halan 30, Pasan Thenuwara 15, Navod Kalansuriya 105 n.o., Chandeepa Wimalaweera 27 n.o.: A. Tharanga 2 for 22, M. Niroshan 2 for 51, S. Sameera 2 for 110)

At Darley Road

St. Joseph’s 167 (Priyamal Perera 36, Sadeera Samarawickrama 34, Teshan Thanuja 23, Duran de Alwis 21, Pathum Madusanka 20, Dylan Fernandopulle 17: Binura Fernando 5 for 50, Harith Maduwantha 2 for 22) and 204 (Priyamal Perera 70, Dylan Fernandopulle 50, Sadeera Samarawickrama 25: Binura Fernando 3 for , Raveen de Silva 3 for 35)

DSS 134 (Shifran Muthaliph 34, Binura Fernando 33, Thimila Vidyasekera 21, Akeel Inham 17: Teshan Tanuja 4 for 29, Aravinda Akurugoda 3 for 36, Yashan Samarasekera 2 for 8) and 233 (Kavin Bandara 68, Shifran Muthaliph 63, Thimila Vidyasekera 38, Akeel Inham 19, Duleeka Brahakmanage 18: Priyamal Perera 6 for 54, Aravinda Akurugoda 3 for 70)

At Maradana

Isipathana 271 (Sachin Jayasuriya 108, S. Ushan 52, Sahan Weerakoon 25, Pramod Maduwantha 22, Chameera Dissanayake 20: Ramzan Rafaideen 5 for 118, Tuan Safran 2 for 18) and 119 for 4 (Torrey Thabrew 55, S. Jayasuriya 23, Pramod Maduwantha 19 n.o.: Nishki Ahamed 3 for 29)

Zahira (82/4 overnight) 260 (Shehan Weerasinghe 65, Tuan Safran 57, Mohamed Arshad 22, Mohamed Arshad 22, Mohamed Salman 19, Mohamed Shaheen 35 n.o.: Kelum Bastiansz 5 for 69, Chameera Dissanayake 3 for 59, K. Dhananjaya 2 for 40)

At Campbell Park

St. Anthony’s Katugastota 99 (Mohamed Aflaar 23, Damitha Panditharatne 22, Nimesh Munasinghe 19: Jason Caderamanpulle 4 for 19, Deshan Jayawardena 3 for 24) and 233 for 7 (Damithra Panditharatne 76, Nimesh Munasinghe 66, Dilan Bandara 40, Kanishka Uggalpaya 37: Deshan Jayawardena 4 for 64, Dhanushka Karunaratne 2 for 18)

Wesley (133/ 4 overnight) 175 (Deshan Jayawardena 46, Indeewara Kaluarachchi 37, Jason Caderamanpulle 22, Dilshan Paris 15: Muditha Mahindaratne 3 for 33, Nimesh Munasinghe 2 for 29, Dilanka Wijetunge 2 for 29)

By Aubrey Kuruppu

Vidyartha College could not continue the batting promise they showed on the first day and, at the end, had to call on all their powers of defence to deny Dharmaraja College a win in their match ended at Lake View yesterday. Isuru Weerasinghe held the Vidyartha batting together with a well-compiled 52. Later Krishantha Jayasuriya chipped in with a half century.

Off-spinners Thanusha Weragoda, Deneth Lanka and left-arm spinner Venuka Galahitiyawa shared the wickets. Second time round, the spin trio found their way barred by the broad defensive bats held out by the Vidyartha players. Did the bowlers, who were in the field for around six and a half hours wilt in the heat?

Dharmaraja 302 for 9 wickets declared in 73 overs (Chandimal de Silva 89, Ramesh Ranasinghe 40, Deshan Gunasinghe 44, Deneth Lanka 23, K.V.B. Dissanaike 34, Avishka Samarakoon 5 for 87, Chanaka Ratnayake 3 for 89)
Vidyartha (57-2 overnight) 189 all our in 86.1 overs (Chanaka Ratnayake 14, Isuru Weerasinghe 52, Krishantha Jayasuriya 54, Chintaka Nayanajith 18, Tharusha Weragoda 4 for 17, Venuka Galahitiyawa 2 for 33, Deneth Lanka 2 for 37) and 53 for 7 wickets in 46 overs at close (Avishka Samarakoon 19, Deneth Lanka 3 for 3, Venuka Galahitiyawa 3 for 5)

Share This Post

comments powered by Disqus

Advertising Rates

Please contact the advertising office on 011 - 2479521 for the advertising rates.