Pacie Subasinghe sends Tamil Union reeling

Premier Cricket
By M.Shamil Amit

NCC right arm pacie Ramesh Subasinghe sent Tamil Union reeling in the morning session’s play on day two in their Premier Tier ‘A’ cricket encounter at the P. Sara Stadium.
Tamil Union resuming from their overnight score of 66 for 3, despite a fighting 56 by skipper Jeewan Mendis lasted only 17.1 overs and were able to add only 55 runs as Ramesh ran through the batting and ended with a six wicket haul.

Ramesh finished with impressive figures of 6 for 48 with skipper Kosala Kulasekera taking two wickets. This was in reply to NCC’s 225.
NCC again dominated the final two sessions of play with Dinesh Chandimal (who made 131 with ten boundaries and three sixes) and Chamara Kapugedera (who made an unbeaten 91) helping the side with a 170 runs stand for the third wicket to end the day on 260 for 4.
CCC right arm pacie Himesh Silva put his side back in contention after they had conceded a first inning lead to Lankan CC in their match played at the CCC ground.

Himesh ran through the Lankan CC top order batting with a devastating spell in their second innings to have them struggling on 26 for 5 and then at 30 for 7 before a 63 runs stand for the eighth wicket between Saliya Saman and Dinuk Weeraratne enabled them reach 115 for 8.
Earlier in the day CCC resuming from their overnight score of 24 for 1 went on to make 204 in reply to Lankan CC’s 233.

At P. Sara Stadium – Tamil Union vs NCC
NCC 225 (Dinesh Chandimal 55, Chamara Kapugedera 42, Shashrika Pussegolla 24, Angelo Perera 60 n.o.: Chanaka Welagedera 4 for 61, Rashmika Maduranga 3 for 15) and 260 for 4 (Dinesh Chandimal 131, Yohan de Silva 18, Chamara Kapugedera 91 n.o.: Jeewan Mendis 3 for 62)Tamil Union (66/3 overnight) 121 (Jeewan Mendis 56, Sachitra Serasinghe 20: Ramesh Subasinghe 6 for 48, Kosala Kulasekera 2 for 44)

At CCC – CCC vs Lankan CC
Lankan CC 233 (Harsha Vithana 51, Saliya Saman 44, Hemantha Boteju 39, Dinuk Weeraratne 20, Hasantha Fernando 18, Nimesh Perera (Snr )15: Gamini Chandrakumara 5 for 44, Himesh Silva 2 for 49) and 115 for 8 (Saliya Saman 41, Hasantha Fernando 16, Dinuk Weeraratne 31 n.o.: Himesh Silva 5 for 50, Dhanushka Gunatileke 2 for 27)
CCC (24/1 overnight) 204 (Kithruwan Withanage 36, Dhanushka Gunatileke 30, Malintha Gajanayake 29, Romesh Perera 21, Tharindu Mendis 18, Sachith Pathirana 16, Dhanushka Gunatileke 22 n.o.: Saliya Saman 5 for 58, Hasantha Fernando 4 for 57)

Tier ‘B’
Panadura made to struggle
Panadura were made to struggle for their runs in their Premier Tier ‘B’ encounter against Moors on day two at Braybrooke Place. Moors who took first lease of the wicket on day one amassed a score of 375.
The formidable score came on the back of half tons by Kasun Bodisha, Chathuranga de Silva and Rajitha Wickramaarachchi. Panadura batting on day two fell into deep trouble as they lost their top five batsmen with the score on 53 but recovered to make 159.

Moors opting to bat the second time ended the day by making 172 for 3 with Rajitha Wickramaarchchi continuing his batting form with an unbeaten 101.
At Rifle Green Air Force in reply to the massive score of 338 made by Army were 125 for 4 when play stopped on the second day. The Airmen was given a flying start by openers Achira Eranga and Rajitha Ratnayake who put on 81.

BRC resuming from their overnight score of 134 for 3 was guided with a knock of 84 by overnight batsman Nimesh Perera (Jnr) to make 314 against Seeduwa/Raddoluwa CC on day two in their match at the BRC grounds.

This was in reply to their opponents’ score of 177. Seeduwa/Raddoluwa CC batting the second time was 176 for 6. At Welisara Ranil Rasanga’s knock of 75 helped Navy, resuming from their overnight score of 123 for 3, to make a bold 300 in reply to Singha SC’s 136. Singha SC batting the second time was 158 for 4.

At Braybrooke Place –
Moors vs Panadura
Moors 375 (Kasun Bodisha 94, Chathuranga de Silva 71, Rajitha Wickramaarchchi 51, Bathiya Perera 49, Suwanji Madanayake 20, Tharanga Priyadarshana 29 n.o.: Amila Perera 3 for 68, Nilantha Cooray 2 for 96) and 172 for 3 (Isham Ghouse 31, Bathiya Perera 27, Rajitha Wickramaarachchi 101 n.o.)
Panadura 159 (Carmen Mapatuna 48, Ranga Cooray 21, Amila Perera 20, Pramuka Sudesh 16: Suwanji Madanayake 4 for 32, Chathuranga de Silva 2 for 15, Dilhara Lokuhettige 2 for 21)

At Rifle Green – Air Force vs Army
Army 338 (Dilan Soysa 95, Rishan Kavinga 75, Suresh Fernando 44, Ajantha Mendis 37, Seekuge Prasanna 31, Chandima Prasad 21: Dinusha Fernando 4 for 53, Pishan Hewage 3 for 78)
Air Force 125 for 4 (Achira Eranga 43, Rajitha Ratnayake 53 n.o.: Seekuge Prasanna 2 for 42, Ajantha Mendis 2 for 47)

At BRC – BRC vs Seeduwa/Raddoluwa CC
Seeduwa/Raddoluwa CC 177 (Rasika Priyadarshana 51, Dilshan Aravinda 42, Upul Fernando 28, Hashan Goonetileke 19: Marlan Madusanka 5 for 49, Ruwan Perera 2 for 50) and 176 for 6 (Hashan Goonetileke 52, Yasas Tilekeratne 27, Dilshan Aravinda 18, Upul Fernando 37 n.o.: Marlan Madusanka 2 for 70)

BRC (134/3 overnight) 314 (Nimesh Perera jnr 84, Supun Perera 52, Marlan Madusanka 41, Muditha Fernando 35, Buddi Samarawickrama 26, Heshan de Silva 17: Jeffrey Vandersay 4 for 66, Ranil Dhammika 3 for 111)

At Welisara – Navy vs Singha SC
Singha SC 136 (Mahesh Kumara 38, Levan Moshin 26, Nalaka Kaluarachchi 21: Dulanjana Mendis 4 for 46, Nishantha Weerakkody 2 for 25, Udara Peiris 2 for 37) and 158 for 4 (Mahesh Kumara 46, Lahiru Ashen 45, Levan Moshin 22 n.o., Thilina Rajakaruna 21 n.o.: Dulanjana Mendis 3 for 45)
Navy (123/3 overnight) 300 (Ranil Rasanga 75, Dhanushka Gurusinghe 41, Udara Peiris 40, Dilan Chandima 35, Udara Jayasundara 30, Vindika Chandrasiri 24, Sanjaya Chathuranga 34 n.o.: Mahesh Kumara 5 for 98, Dinesh Premakumara 3 for 31, Madusanka Ekanayake 2 for 59)

Top to the page  |  E-mail  |  views[1]
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend
Other Sports Articles
Cricket vacuum and what’s around the next bend
Pacie Subasinghe sends Tamil Union reeling
National Beach Volleyball team leaves for Thailand
The way the cricket cookie crumbles
Power sharing deal a comfort
There were no double games or disputes
My impressions of the World Cup Final
Ashan Silva and Kumarasinghe triumph at Radella Hill Climb
Ramzeen all set to restore Trinity rugby this season
Seneviratne crashes into International contest


Reproduction of articles permitted when used without any alterations to contents and a link to the source page.
© Copyright 1996 - 2011 | Wijeya Newspapers Ltd.Colombo. Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved | Site best viewed in IE ver 8.0 @ 1024 x 768 resolution