The 6th Annual Badminton Individual Championship

By Maxie Kariyawasam

The above Badminton Championship was held at the Wattala Badminton Indoor Stadium on July 5, 2009 where a high standard of Badminton was on display and enthusiastically lapped up by a large and appreciative audience. This meet was organized by the Director of Wattala Badminton Indoor Stadium Mr. Raphealy Fernando and coach Mrs Sriyani Deepika and the chief guest was the President of the Mercantile Badminton Association Mr. Ajith Wijesinghe.

After an enthralling days programme which saw many a close encounter and an equally top notch display of Badminton, the following were rewarded with trophies and certificates for their outstanding talent.

Open Boys Singles – Eranga Lahiru (Ananda College)
Open Girls Singles – Gayathri Vitharanage (Sirimavo Bandaranayake M.V)
Triple Crown Winner – Sarini Samaranayake (Museaus College)
Best Performance – Dewanka Jayakody (Royal College)

All in all it was gala entertainment the whole day through and the credit if any, should undoubtedly go to coach Sriyani Deepika, a former National Champion who has moulded these talented youngsters to rise up to the occasion and one hopes that in the near future at least some of them would turn out to be National Material.

Top to the page  |  E-mail  |  views[1]
  Other Sports Articles
Selection and retirement policy
Let the bats do the talking
A great win, but was it enough?
It was Royal’s ‘right’ year
Pugilist Nilmini’s Russia with love
Rain halts Aussie march to victory
Champions Trophy brought forward
CR wins in second half rally
Somaratna cruises to fifth Under 21 title -
Dilshan signs for Northern Districts province
> NM Distributors through
Heshan on song at the stadium pool
STC go out favourites
Lankans seek gold in Lisbon
Nirasha and Saurullah best at court
> The 6th Annual Badminton Individual Championship
> Gateway Kandy for the fourth time
> Lyceum Wattala emerge champions
> Romesh and Lahiru put Ragama CC on top


Reproduction of articles permitted when used without any alterations to contents and a link to the source page.
© Copyright 2009 | Wijeya Newspapers Ltd.Colombo. Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.| Site best viewed in IE ver 6.0 @ 1024 x 768 resolution