Nalanda wins U-17 Baseball C’ship

The Baseball team of Nalanda College Colombo won the Under 17 national Baseball championship played for Colonel Deepal Tennekoon challenge trophy.

The picture shows Chief Guest Ranjith Jayasundara principal of Nalanda College presenting the challenge trophy to Captain Ishara Tennekoon who was also declared as man of the match. Royal college Colombo won the Heshan Premaratne challenge runner up trophy. Most valuable player was Nadun Karunarathne of Royal College.

Inter-University VB on July 8, 9 and 10

By P. D. de Silva

The 11th Inter-University Volleyball Tournament organized by the Department of Physical Studies and organized by the Department of Physical Studies will be held on July 8, 9 and 10 at the Indoor Stadium of the University of Ruhuna in Matara.

The Chancelor of the University of Ruhuna Professor Susinath Mendis will declare open the championships at 8 am on July 8 and the presentation will take place at 4.30 pm on July 10 with the participation of Deputy Vice Chancellor Professor Gamini Senanayake.

Teams from the Universities of Colombo, Peradeniya, Kelaniya, Sri Jayawardenapura, Moratuwa, Jaffna, Rajarata, Sabaragamuwa, Eastern, Wayamba, South Eastern, Aesthetics, Uva and Ruhuna will compete in the men and women’s tournament. A total of 52 teams will take part in the competition.
The University of Ruhuna won the men’s championship at the 11th Games held last year while the University of Kelaniya took the women’s title.

Vijitha Central, Welipatanwila champs

Vijitha Central College and Welipatanwila Maha Vidyalaya in the Hambantota District bagged the boys and girls volleyball titles at the DSI Super Sports Southern Province Schools Volleyball Championships held at the Vijitha Central Volleyball Courts.

Under 18 Boys Winner: Vijitha Central Dikwella; Runner-up: Wijayaba National School Hungama; Joint Runners-up: Sariputhra Navodya Ahangama and Gamini Central Bentota. Under 18 Girls Winner: Welipatanwila MV Hambantota; Runner-up: Christ Church Girls School Baddegama; Joint Runners-up: Gonagala MV and Narandeniya NS.

Under 14 Boys Winner: Gamini Central Bentota; Runner-up: Wimalabuddhi MV Seenigama; Joint First Runner-up: Wijayaba MV Thotagamuwa and Ambalantota MV. Under 14 Girls Winner: Sooriyawewa NS, Runner-up: Lakagama Model Junior School; Joint first Runners-up: Kuda Bibula KV and St. Thomas’ Girls School Matara. - [PDdeS]

Top to the page  |  E-mail  |  views[1]
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend
Other Sports Articles
Banned substances in school rugby is a menace
Nalanda wins U-17 Baseball C’ship
CH & FC goes on its own to bolster rugby image
SLCUA takes its own path to better cricket umpiring
‘Lanka can learn a lot from the ISTAF World Cup’
Upali admits there is a task at hand
Chilaw Marians on top of BRC
Kvitova stuns Sharapova to take Wimbledon crown
Isipathana launches ICPRPA to boost rugby football
Lanka will bank on 4x400 m relay team to break drought
Aney Is It True with Nam
Indian youth cold on Olympic sports, rues Bindra
Another chance for Lanka today against Filipinos
Royal keep Gunaratne Trophy with 22-7 win over S. Thomas’
Tongan power too much for CH
Thais shock Sri Lanka
Doctor what supplements can I give my child?
Bouncers and Yorkers at new boys at SLC


Reproduction of articles permitted when used without any alterations to contents and a link to the source page.
© Copyright 1996 - 2011 | Wijeya Newspapers Ltd.Colombo. Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved | Site best viewed in IE ver 8.0 @ 1024 x 768 resolution