Court of Appeal to hear EPC case amidst nomination for Provincial Council polls


The Court of Appeal hearing on the petition against the premature dissolution of the Eastern Province will begin on July 20, a day after nominations begin for three provincial council polls.

This week the Court of Appeal decided that the case be heard before a Bench comprising Justices Sisira De Abrew, A.W.A. Salam and Anil Goonaratne.

The Eastern Provincial Council and the North Central and Sabaragamuwa Provincial Councils were dissolved last month and the Elections Department announced recently that nominations for the three councils would begin on July 19 and end on August 19.

Petitioner K.K.P Rangana Amarasinghe cited the Eastern Province Chief Minister Sivanesathurai Chandrakanthan, Governor Mohan Wijewickrama, Council Ministers M.S. Subair, T. Navaratnarajah, Meera Saibu Uthuma Lebbe and Wimalaweera Dissanayake as respondents.
Mr. Amarasinghe in his petition filed before the dissolution of the EPC, says that according to the constitution the council should be dissolved in May 2013 and sought an interim order to prevent the dissolution of the council.

President’s Counsel K. Kanag Iswaran with M.A. Sumanthiran, Bhavani Fonseka and Niran Anketell instructed by Mahan Balendra appeared for the petitioner while President’s Counsel Faisz Musthapha and Namal Rajapaksa represented the Chief Minister.
Deputy Solicitor General Janak de Silva with SSC Sumathi Dharmawardena State Counsel Sanjaya Kodituwakku appeared for the Governor.
Faizer Musthapha appeared for Minister Subair and Kalinga Indatissa for Minister Navaratnarajah, Kushan de Alwis for Miniser Uthuma Lebbe and M.V. M.A. Ali Sabry for Minister Dissanayake.

Share This Post

comments powered by Disqus

Advertising Rates

Please contact the advertising office on 011 - 2479521 for the advertising rates.