Free hold

Election of New Council at SLIA Annual General Meeting

Archt. Ranjan Nadesapillai, New President of SLIA

The Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the Sri Lanka Institute of Architects (SLIA) took place on the 26th of February 2011 at the Bandaranaike Memorial International Conference Hall (BMICH). The AGM came to pass as one of the many significant components of the 'Architect 2011' - the 29th Annual Sessions of the SLIA.

Themed on 'Architecture for All, City + Community,' the 2011 session was aimed at exploring aspects of the architect's role in national development including creating the city for the community and the new issues confronting the architect in fulfilling this task.

Archt. Ranjan Nadesapillai taking over the reigns of Presidency of the Sri Lanka Institute of Architects from Archt. Chandana Edirisuriya

The Annual General Meeting saw a renewal of the Council who would provide guidance and leadership to the forthcoming 2011/12 and 2012/13 sessions with Archt. Ranjan Nadesapillai, Senior Vice President for the immediate term taking over office from the current President, Archt. Chandana Edirisuriya. Further, issues on the membership and profession, progresses made up to now and future plans of the SLIA were discussed amidst the membership present at the occasion.

The SLIA was established in 1957; in 1976 it was incorporated under an Act of Parliament and since then functions as the professional governing body of the Sri Lankan architects. Currently consisting of over 1000 members its primary purpose remains regulating architectural education and practice of the country.

Speaking in relation to the 2011 theme for the sessions, 'Architecture for All, City + Community' and the role of SLIA in the community Archt. Chandana Edirisuriya said, "As a professional community we have a lot to offer in services, be it for an individual client, community or country," while Archt. Ranjan Nadesapillai went on to say, "As an institute we get involved in any national development and as a profession we contribute in whatever way we can."

The new council members included Archt. Ranjan Nadesapillai, President, Archt. Chandana Edirisuriya, Immediate Past President, Archt. Professor Chitra Weddikkara, Senior Vice President, Archt. Harsha Fernando, Vice President, Archt. D.H. Wijewardena, Honorary Secretary, Archt. Jayanath Silva, Honourary Treasurer, Archt. Revatha Amarasekera, Honorary Assistant Secretary, Archt. Veranjan Kurukulasuriya, Chairman Board of Architectural Education, Archt. Bernard Gomez, Chairman Professional Affairs Board, Archt. Prasanna Silva, Chairman Board of Architectural Publication, Archt. D.B Navaratne, Chairman Board of Management, Archt. Navaratne, Archt. Rohana Bandara Herath, Archt. Jagath Bogahawatte, Archt. Janaka Dharmasena, Archt. Dilummini De Mel, Archt. Herath and Archt. Anton Gajasinghe.

The Annual Session of 2011 also consisted of a grand Inauguration Ceremony on the 23rd of February, the Work and Trade Exhibition opened to the public on the 24th and continuing till the 27th, the National Conference held on the 24th and a Fellowship Night of celebrations held on the 26th for a festive closing. The SLIA 'Architect 2011' was organised in association with Strategic Sponsor Alumex Group, Associate Sponsors True Value Products (Pvt) Ltd and Colourcon (Pvt) Ltd, and Event Sponsors Naveen Ceramics (Pvt) Ltd, Lankem Ltd and Matro Engineering & Construction (Pvt) Ltd.

Top to the page  |  E-mail  |  views[1]
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend
Other Free Hold Articles
The BoC's novel credit scheme empowers Sri Lankan fishermen
Delmege wins once again at Architects 2011
Arugam Bay fishing community vital for development of tourism in the area
New Zesta pack presented to Minister Mahinda Samarasinghe
Another breakthrough from John Piper International
'Carbon Footprint - Take it with you"
Election of New Council at SLIA Annual General Meeting
Sadaharitha Rewards the Premier-Platinum members


Reproduction of articles permitted when used without any alterations to contents and a link to the source page.
© Copyright 1996 - 2011 | Wijeya Newspapers Ltd.Colombo. Sri Lanka | All Rights Reserved | Site best viewed in IE ver 8.0 @ 1024 x 768 resolution.