35th Royal-Thomian regatta
Thora out for the kill

After the crash landing at the last regatta, the Thomian crew seems determined to make the defeat inflicted upon them by returning with great determination and ferocity.

This season has seen them re-emerge from the ashes and make their presence felt in the rowing arena following the record whitewash last year. Royal’s victory margin of 40 points was the highest in the 34 year history of this annual social and sporting event. From the very inception of this season, the Thomian crew has dominated the waters of the Beira with victories in the Harry Creasy Senior fours, the Head of the Beira, and the HMS Enterprise Junior Fours where oarsmen Manil Salgado, Eshan Goonawardane, Ruven Weerasinghe, Sajeev De Silva and Amrick Varia captured the much coveted Centenary Oars trophy.

The Thomians also emerged overall winners in the Joes Age Group Sculling regatta, where Sajeev De Silva was awarded the prestigious Josephian Blues Challenge Trophy for the Best U 19 Sculler.
At the 24th Sri Lanka National Rowing Championships organized recently by the Amateur Rowing Association of Sri Lanka, the Thomians emerged the overall winners of the Junior and Intermediate Category and Runners Up in the senior category.

As the Royal Thomian regatta approaches tensions begin to mount and both schools tested their capabilities at the annual Royal Thomian Mini regatta and this year saw the Thomians emerging victors, reclaiming the Asia Digest Challenge Trophy for the overall champions with a final score of 28 to Royal’s total of 12. The Royal Thomian regatta will oar off next Saturday at the Colombo Rowing Club and will be undoubtedly one for the record books as no inch will be given by either crew without a fight.

Though going in as the under dogs at this exchange, experience is what Royal has in abundance. Royal will take oars under fourth year coloursman Dinuk Perera while his deputy will be Mahima Weerasinghe who is also a fourth year coloursman.

Besides the above the man who can add flavour to Royal’s effort is young Thivanka Jayatilleke, who was adjudged the schoolboy Sculler at the rowing nationals a few weeks ago.

Seated(L-R) – Mr Hiran Doranegama(coach), Mr Sudath Liyanagunawardene(Senior Games Master), Dinouk Perera(Captain), Mr Upali Gunasekara(Principal), Mahima Weerasinghe (Vice-captain), Mr Hemachandra(Master-in-charge), Mr Asiri Abheyratne (Deputy Coach)
1st Row Standing(L-R) – Devinda Fernando, Chirath Karunanayake, Radika Weerasekera, Lakkitha Liyanage, Thivanka Jayatilake
2nd Row Standing(L-R) – Pasan Ranaweera, Arith Cooray, Nabil Hassan, Saishna Fernando, Ajmal Sideek, Shehan Muthugala, Ashan Herath, Randev Gunasena, Sanjiva Jayasuriya, Mewan Jayatilake, Dhanushka Perera
Seated - Devaan Hallock (Vice Captain), Manil Salgadoe (Captain), Mr. Chevantha Sirimanne (Coach), Dhanushka Jayanetti (Secretary)
1st Row Standing (L-R) - Priyanka Hewage, Eshan Goonewardene, Shelan de Livera, Dunstan Harold, Ruven Weerasinghe, Chamal Jayanetti, Arjun Manoharan, Yohan Wijeratne, Aksahth Wikramanayake .
2nd Row Standing (L-R) - Jayan Peiris, Sajin de Livera, Uween Jayasinha, Trehan Manatunga, Sajeev de Silva, Peter Cristy, Amrick Varia, Yanik Salgadoe.

Top to the page  |  E-mail  |  views[1]
Other Sports Articles
Lankan cricketers will not change their stance- Pramodya
THE MORGAN scriptures
Save the game! -- Go provincial
Triumph in the Canadian chill
Doungkeaw swats to make it two
Aussies looking down the barrel
Royal crush Richmond= Under 19 cricket
Dragons could hardly breathe fire
Shehan also equals nine year record
Royal make it four in-a-row
Taiwan stun Sri Lanka
Thora out for the kill
Tale of two instituions
CH no more


Reproduction of articles permitted when used without any alterations to contents and a link to the source page.
© Copyright 2008 | Wijeya Newspapers Ltd.Colombo. Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.| Site best viewed in IE ver 6.0 @ 1024 x 768 resolution