ISSN: 1391 - 0531
Sunday March 02, 2008
Vol. 42 - No 40

Another draw on the cards

By Chrishantha John

Ananda College

Another draw is on the cards as evenly balanced ‘maroons’ lock horns for the 79th occasion at the Sinhalese Sports Club grounds next Saturday and Sunday.

Besides the evening showers that the island is experiencing at present both Ananda and Nalanda does not boast of the champion sides that they used to possess in the past.

Both teams have two wins apiece to their credit, but, neither has anything to brag about.

Although 18 two-day matches were scheduled for the season the Nalandians played only 12 matches. Ten matches ended in tame draws while they won against Hewagama MMV and Isipatana.

The best batsman of the season for Nalanda has been skipper Madawa Warnapura who is the younger son of Sri Lanka’s first test cricket captain Bandula Warnapura. Ashan Priyanjana who led the Sri Lanka Under 19 teams to the World Cup in Mayalsia is Warnapura’s deputy this year.

Besides the above mentioned, left arm orthodox spinner Amal Atapattu and right arm off spinner Dinuk Jayasingha are the leading wicket takers for them. In another unique feat Dinuk Jayasingha and Chathuranga Wickramasingha made a new school record which was a 9th wicket partnership of 188 runs.

Commenting on the game Nalanda MIC M Wickramasingha said “We are going to be very positive this year”.

The Anandians also played 11 matches this season and six of them ended in tame draws while they beat Piliyandala Central and Dharmapala Pannipitiya to register their two wins.

Nalanda College

The best Batsman and the highest wicket taker for Ananda is their captain Ranganath Wijethunga. The vice captain Udara Pieris also ahs been a consistent contributor in both departments. While Nalanda had the national teenage captain in Ashan Priyanjana, Ananda provided them with their deputy skipper in Dinesh Chandimal Lokuge.

Ananda MIC Priyankara Nandasena commenting on the ‘big one’ said that the biggest drawback to them this year was the non-availability of their home venue which is being revamped at present and the cancellation of six matches in the first term. However he was confidant that the team would do well in the ‘big match’ next week

Ananda from: Ranganath Wijethunge (captain Udara Pieris (vice captain), Udara Jayasundara, Chandimal Lokuge, Mr. Priyankara Nandasena.Sachin Devage , Rasith Jayarathne, Geshan Wimaladharma, Mathisha Perera, Namal Gurusinghe, Chamith Kularathne, Sameera Nanayakkara, Shashendra Gunathilaka, Sameera Wijesuriya, Madumal Jayarathne, Prabodha Senevirathne, Rajeewa Balasuriya, Deshadhi Perera, Dhinuka Jayasinghe.

Nalanda from: Madawa Warnapura (Captain), Ashan Priyanjana Subasinghe (Vice Captain Chilan De Silva, Hesitha Gamage, Chetan De Silva, Chaturanga Wickramasinghe, Dilshan Munaweera, Amal Athapattu, Primosh Perera, Adheesha Nanayakkara, Tharindu Wickramasinghe, Nipun Karunayake, R: Tarindu Vidanapatirana, Supun Narangoda, Dinuk Jayasinghe, Vimukthi Romesh, Gayan Madusanka.

Top to the page  |  E-mail  |  views[1]

Reproduction of articles permitted when used without any alterations to contents and a link to the source page.
© Copyright 2008 | Wijeya Newspapers Ltd.Colombo. Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.