ISSN: 1391 - 0531
Sunday March 2, 2008
Vol. 42 - No 40
Kandy Times  

Trinity has the edge

The 92nd Big Match between Trinity and St. Anthony's

Pix by Shane Seneviratne

The 92nd Big Match between Trinity and St. Anthony's could be more even than usual, taking into consideration the performances of the two teams this season. The match is to be played at Katugastota on the 14th and 15th March.

Both in the Anthonians and the Trinitians bat deep, but there is no one in either team who can be relied on to dominate a game and succeed in a pressure situation. One harks back to the deeds of Bernard Perera, Thaiyar Mohamed and Marlon Von Hagt for the Anthonians, and those of Kumar Sangakkara and Kaushalya Weeraratne for the Trinitians.

Trinity Captain
Ailan Gangoda
St. Anthony's Captain Gimhan Dissanaike

The one exception could be all-rounder Sachith Pathirana, if he performs to expectations with bat and ball. Pathirana scored a fifty in his first big match and took a five wicket bag in another. This then is a great opportunity for him to put it all together and enhance his team’s prospects.

Inconsistency has been the bane of most batsmen. Trinity Skipper Ailan Gangoda started off with a hundred and had a few decent scores thereafter. However the runs have dried up and, short of confidence, he has moved down the order to number five. He has to lead from the front and that means he must revert to his former position.

The success story for the Trinitians has been the batting of the stocky left hander Kitmal Wimalaweera. He makes a sizeable contribution almost every time he walks out and cannot be faulted for lack of effort. Wasika Munasinghe made a 150 plus against Kegalu MV. and 99 against Ananda. He did well in last year's big match, too. Small made Roshan Jaleel has, time and time again, come up with useful all-round performances. The Anthonians would do well to keep a wary eye on him. Side lined by injury for the last couple of games, Romesh Perera must be waiting to get at the Anthonians. However his moderate performances this season do not infuse optimism.

Sajid, Ilangaratne and Rajith Bandara can add useful runs down the order. Sajith and Bandara are very fluent drivers off the front foot. Ilangaratne, though fast and furious, lacks accuracy, to trouble the batsmen consistently. Pathirana's presence should give the bowling some depth. Leggie Jayasundera and off spinner Umadantha need to bowl more effectively.

Gimhan Dissanaike, an attacking batsman, leads the Anthonians. A maker of a hundred against the Sylvestrians, Dissanaike, like his counterpart, has dropped down the order. He needs to set the tone for the Anthonian innings. Diminutive Malindu Perera has the ability to bat for a long time, but he would do well not to be tied down.

Left arm spinners Sahan Palihakkara and Adil Regal have been the key wicket-takers for the Katugastota school. Regal has also made good contributions with the bat. Sumindan is a century-maker but seems to have gone off the boil. Stumper Jerome Siegertsz is an accomplished player who bats fairly high up. Kasun Ekanayake needs to do more with the bat and with his off breaks to advance his team's cause.

Paceman Hishan Ranasinghe is promising. His partner will be Tharanga Bandara Senior player Hewapathirana, an off spinner, and Fabian Leonard, a medium pacie, complete the bowling lineup. Trinity beat Sri Rahula and lost to St. Peters and St Thomas'. The Anthonians have not won any matches, but lost to Thurstan and St. Josephs.

For the record, Trinity has won 22 Matches, the Anthonians 12, While 57 matches have ended in draws. Trinity last won in 1986, the Authorians in 1992.

Trinity (from) Ailan Gangoda (Capt), Arinda Bulunawewa, Sachith Pathirana, Wasika Munasinghe, Romesh Perera, Roshan Jaleel, Kitmal Wimalaweera, Rajitha Bandara, Akila Jayasundera, Mohamed Sajid, Chamath Umadanta, Skehan Mohamed, Suresh Wickrema, Hasitha Ilangaratne, Dushan Ranasinghe. Coach-Darrel Wimalaratne.

St. Anthony's (from) Gimhan Dissanaike (Capt), Sahan Palihakkara, Malindu Perera, Adil Regal, Eranda Hewapathirana, Subramaniam Suminthan, Jerome Siegertsz, Kusun Ekanayake, Heshan Ranasinghe, Airan Wickremasekera, Ayesh Galagoda, Tharanga Bandara, Fabian Leonard, Manoj Sarachchandra, Aravinda Premaratne. Coach - Champika Siriwardena.

Trinity team


St. Anthony’s team
Top to the page  |  E-mail  |  views[1]

Reproduction of articles permitted when used without any alterations to contents and a link to the source page.
© Copyright 2008 | Wijeya Newspapers Ltd.Colombo. Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.