ISSN: 1391 - 0531
Sunday March 02, 2008
Vol. 42 - No 40
Financial Times  

New currency notes from the Central Bank

The Central Bank of Sri Lanka will shortly issue into circulation, currency notes of Rupees 2000, 1000, 50, 20 and 10 denominations of the existing Sri Lanka Heritage Series bearing the signatures in facsimile of President Mahinda Rajapaksa, Minister of Finance and Planning and Ajith Nivard Cabraal, Governor of the Central Bank.

The bank has so far issued 10 series of currency notes under different themes and the current heritage series has had nine previous issues up to 2005.

The currency notes in the denomination of Rs.1000 will be issued into circulation from tomorrow while currency notes in other denominations of Rs. 2000, 50, 20 and 10 will be issued into circulation shortly thereafter.

The date of issue of denominations of Rs. 500 and Rs. 100 would be notified subsequently, the bank said. These notes will bear the serial prefixes and numbers P/31 000001 onwards in respect of Rs. 2000; G/186 065001 onwards in respect of Rs. 1000; K/280 192001 onwards in respect of Rs. 50; L/366 921001 onwards in respect of Rs. 20; and M/552 515001 onwards in respect of Rs. 10. The date on the notes will be 2006.07.03.


Top to the page  |  E-mail  |  views[1]

Reproduction of articles permitted when used without any alterations to contents and a link to the source page.
© Copyright 2008 | Wijeya Newspapers Ltd.Colombo. Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.