Youth Ruggerites out to secure a place in next World Cup in Dubai
By Shamseer Jaleel
After the recent success of the seniors the youth rugby team is out on a mission this month. That is to secure at least third place and secure a place in the Youth World Cup 2006 in Dubai. Korea and Japan had already qualified for this mega event which will be hosted by the U A E in April next year.

The youngsters who are under watchful eyes of the New Zealander George Simpkin and the assistant coach Ronnie Ibrahim will depart to Lahore on 8 December. Ananda second rower Gayan Fernando is tipped to lead the side . He is also in the senior pool will have some top class players in the calibre of Imalka Madumapatabendi (Trinity) and Yoshitha Rajapakse (S. Thomas) who are all out to secure third place.

Sri Lanka will feature in the very first game soon after the opening ceremony against Korea on 11 December and then lock horns against Thailand on 13 December. Japan, Hong Kong, Taipei, India, Pakistan and Kazakastan are the other side who will take part in the Junior Asiad this year.

The squad of 22 players were selected and sent for the Sports Minister for approval and it is understood that 7 of the players are from the champion Kingswood side and three players each from Wesley and Trinity making the final line up for the tour.

Sri Lanka invited for HK Sevens after 4 years
The Hong Kong Rugby Football Union (HKRFU) invited the Sri Lanka sevens team for the next years Bank of Boston Hong Kong Sevens which will take place in late March. The national team which was kicked out of the famous tournament 4 years ago with some poor performance will have to come out with a very good show if they are to be invited in the future.

The sevens team will first tour to Australia for the Commonwealth games on 18 and 19 March and then wing to Hong Kong. Former Tinitian and the President of the Australian Rugby Football Union (ARFU) Dilip Kumar is expected to look after the accommodation of the Lankan team while their stay in Melbourne.


Copyright © 2001 Wijeya Newspapers Ltd. All rights reserved.