Trinity felled by Ananda duo
By M. Shamil Amit and Bernie Wijesekera
It was all over by 4.30 p.m. Anandians were celebrating as left arm spinner Malith Gunatilleke spun a web around the Trinity batsmen to end with figures of 8 for 29 and bowl them to an innings and 53 run win at Ananda Mawatha.
Gunatilleke closely followed the feat by their batsman Vishwa Wijesuriya who struck an unbeaten hundred to see them through to a total of 288 for 7 declared on Friday.

In the first innings Gunatilleke captured 3 for 11 and then followed it up in the second innings with a haul of 5 for 18 in only eight overs. Trinity scored 92 and 143 in their two turns of batting.

At Campbell the Wesleyites achieved the win they missed last weekend. Thwarted by rain from gaining an outright win over Isipathana last week, Wesley came strong this time to crush Sri Jayawardenapura MMV by an innings and 18 runs in their Elephant Lemonade inter-school cricket match concluded yesterday.

The architect of their win were batsmen Shakthi Siriratne (78) and Avishka Liyanage (63) and 14 year old right arm leg spinner Geoffrey Vandersay who had a match bag of seven wickets.

At Bambalapitiya it was a high scoring game where St Peter’s posted a score of 269 for 9 helped by two half centuries from Lahiru Peiris and Krishal Magage in reply to Nalanda’s score of 321 for 7 declared.

At Reid Avenue the Royalists having scored 201 for 6 declared on the first day bowled out Vidyartha for 135 on day and then Royal batting the second time closed their innings on 88 for 6 which gave Vidyartha a target of 155 to win in 41 overs only to end the day on 84 for 3.

It was a lost cause in the match between S.Thomas’ and Maris Stella Negombo at Mt Lavinia when play was suspended at 2.30 yesterday due to rain with Maris Stella on 164 for 5 in reply to the Thomians 246.

At Campbell Park: Wesley vs Sri Jayawardenapura MMV
Sri Jayawardenapura MMV 115 (A. Chaturanga 44.; Ryan Kern 4 for 44, Geoffrey Vandersay 3 for 24) and 116 (K. Perera 47, D. Perera 25.; Geoffrey Vandersay 4 for 42, Charith Karunaratne 2 for 9, Tariq Naziar 2 for 17)
Wesley 249 for 6 declared (Shakthi Siriratne 78, Avishka Liyanage 63, Ryan Kern 33.; H.S. Perera 3 for 71)

At Bambalapitiya: St Peter’s vs Nalanda
Nalanda 321 for 7 declared (Tharindu Attanayake 96, Milinda Weerasinghe 69, Sahan Perera 35, Lahiru Wickramasinghe 39, Primesh Perera 30.; Lakshan Rodrigo 2 for 64, Shivanga Ranasuriya 2 for 41)
St Peter’s 269 for 9 (Lahiru Peiris 69, Krishal Magage 50, Angelo Perera 26, Dasun Randika 24, Lakshan Rodrigo 25, Delon Udugamasuriya 21.; Milinda Weerasinghe 5 for 61, Namal Gunawardena 3 for 45)

At Reid Avenue: Royal vs Vidyartha
Royal 201 for 6 declared (Dimitri Siriwardena 75, Kushal Perera 33, Dilan Nanayakkara 27, Sukitha Senaratne 25.; A.D. Karunaratne 3 for 45) and 88 for 6 declared (Sukitha Senaratne 25.; E,V, Gangoda 4 for 21)

Vidyartha 135 (E.V. Gangoda 33, P. Aluthge 29, N.C. Ratnayake 24.; Nadun Punchihewa 4 for 24, Dilan Nanayakkara 2 for 20) and 84 for 3 (P. Aluthge 25, E.V. Gangoda 22 n.o.; Kithruwan Vithanage 2 for 17)

At Mt Lavinia: S. Thomas’ vs Maris Stella
S. Thomas 246 (Navin Perera 82, Sivanath Gnanaskandan 41, Ashan Fernando 39, Shashrika Pussegolla 25.; Channa Fernando 5 for 71, Nilantha Kotikawatte 2 for 41, Ashen Silva 2 for 66)

Maris Stella 164 for 5 (Jude Mendis 29, Anton Fernando 21, Asiri Peiris 73 n.o.)


Copyright © 2001 Wijeya Newspapers Ltd. All rights reserved.