Raddoluwa M.V. stun Ananda at six-a-side
There were thrills and spills aplenty at the 11th Old Wesleyites SC six-a-side cricket tournament sponsored by Ceylon Cold stores for the Lemonade trophy, which began at Campbell Park yesterday.

This tournament since its inception has aroused great interest with opportunities afforded to district and rural schools to indulge in competitive cricket. This year 24 teams took part and the competition was played in two groups.

There was a major upset in Group "A". The fast improving Raddoluwa M.V. from Seeduwa created a sensation when they beat Ananda in the first round. Raddoluwa made 70 for 4, while Ananda could muster only 60 for 2. Raddoluwa will take on Batticaloa District in the quarterfinals. Reigning champions Lumbini M.V made 79 for 1. Dharmapala chasing this big score had to make four runs in the last ball. But did well to dethrone Lumbini from the quarters in the thriller.

Schools like St.Peter's, Royal had to make exits in the pre-quarters losing to DS.S.M.V. The Peterites did well to make the highest total for the day 94 for3 with Gehan de Silva on 66 not out, the highest score made by a batsmen. This score they achieved against Royal.

Today the tournament will continue at 8.30 a.m. where several interesting games with S. Thomas’ Dharmapala, and Raddoluwa down toplay. Mr.Sumtihra Gunasekera managing director CCS will be the chief guest at the final commencing at 5.p.m. He will give away the main awards.

The Results : First Rd.
Group 'A': Kingswood bt Holy Cross Kalutara, Dharmapala bt Polonnaruwa Dist, De Mazenod bt Joseph Vaz, Raddoluwa M.V. bt Ananda.

Group 'B': St. Peter's bt Royal, Thurstan bt Isipathana, Nalanda bt St. Benedict's, St. Joseph's bt Prince of Wales.

Pre quarters: D.S.S.M.V. bt St. Peter's, Zahira (Maradana) bt Thurstan.
Quarter-final line -up for today: Group 'A'; S. Thomas' - Dharmapala, Winners of De Mazenod vs Kalutara M.V, Raddoluwa vs Batticaloa.

Group 'B': D.S.S.M.V. - Zahira, vs winners of Nalanda - Wesley and St. Joseph's vs President's College, Rajagiriya. (B.W)

Back to Top  Back to Sports  

Copyright © 2001 Wijeya Newspapers Ltd. All rights reserved.
Contact us: | Editorial | | Webmaster|