ISSN: 1391 - 0531
Sunday, October 15, 2006
Vol. 41 - No 20

Classy Petes dethrone ‘KINGS’

By M. Shamil Amit

St. Peter’s recorded a well deserved 8-3 win over Kingswood in the final of the Milo President’s trophy inter-schools knockout rugby tournament concluded at the Royal Complex grounds in Reid Avenue yesterday. Thus they dethroned the three time and defending champions to end the season in style by clinching a ‘double’ having won the league championship earlier.

St. Peter’s skipper and playmaker Haren Ariyawardena tries to break through. Action from the St.Peter’s vs Kingswood President’s Trophy rugby final. Pictures by Ranjith Perera.

It was a fitting finale with no quarters asked nor given but the defending champs did not have things their own way like in the final of last year’s competition where they completely dominated play. It was the Petes’ turn yesterday as they completely dominated the proceedings in the second half after holding on to a slender three points lead at the short whistle.

The final scores indicate the progress of the game but the Kingswoodians threw away chances of accumulating their points with fly half Dev Anand grassing easy penalties. The first miss was in the tenth minute.The game was played at a hectic pace. The Petes went ahead through a penalty booted over by winger Harsha Weerakkody two minutes before the short whistle was blown by referee Dilroy Fernando.

At the turn around the Kingswoodian fly half Dev Anand failed with another penalty in the sixth minute but made amends with another two minutes later to make it three all. From then on it was the Peterites who dominated the proceedings.They were in their opponent’s territory for most part of this half and did every thing possible but score. During this period they got an opportunity of surging ahead but a penalty offered saw Harsha Weerakkody sending it astray. In this half the Kingswoodians had no chance at all and were under tremendous pressure as nothing came right for them.

The jubilant St.Peter’s rugby team with the President’s Trophy

With the Petes making sporadic moves and having the Kandy boys under control, a kick by Kingswood centre Gayan Ratnage in their territory was successfully smothered by Pete centre Jerald Canute who followed it by going over for a try. This gave the Petes the lead which they successfully held for over 15 minutes to clinch the coveted trophy after ten years. The Peterites last won the President’s trophy in the inaugural tournament in 1995 which was led by Sanjeewa Abeygunawrdane.

Nalanda clinch Premier trophy

Nalanda defeated Mahanama 22 points (one goal, three tries) to 11 (one try, two tries) in the final of the Premier trophy knockout tournament which preceded the President’s trophy encounter to clinch the trophy for the first time. Mahanama led 6-5 at the breather.

Flanker Dilshan Mahagama, hooker Dasun Jayasundara, winger Nisala Sithum and fly half Madusanka Sandaruwan scored the tries for the winners with full back Chandana Priyantha converting one while fly half Sumudu Lasantha scored the try and full back Tuan Meedin booted the two penalties for the losers.

Top to the page

Copyright 2006 Wijeya Newspapers Ltd.Colombo. Sri Lanka.