The Sundaytimes Sri Lanka

Pubudu slams career best knock of 166

Under 23 Cricket

Right arm spinner Shehan Jayasuriya in action against Bloomfield at Braybrooke Place.-Picture by Ranjith Perera.Leo CC skipper Pubudu Asanka slammed a career best 166 which helped Leo CC to come on top against Chilaw Marians at the end of the second day’s play in their Under 23 inter-club cricket encounter at the Panadura Esplanade.Pubudu’s knock comprised 16 boundaries and three sixes as he along with Janishka Premasinghe who made a knock of 78 with nine boundaries put on a valuable 106 runs stand for the fifth wicket enabling Leo CC resuming from their overnight score of 126 for 4 make a formidable score of 409.

The opening days play saw right arm pacie Krishan Dinidu and left arm spinner Thenuka Dhananjaya wrecking the Chilaw Marians batting. The duo shared nine wickets between them to bundle them out for 116. Chilaw Marians batting the second time with a deficit of 293 runs were 84 for no loss when bad light stopped play.

Right arm spinner Shehan Jayasuriya continued his all round performance when he grabbed four wickets to help Moors come out on top against Bloomfield in the match played at Braybrooke Place.Bloomfield who were in a strong position of 95 for 1 on day one was in a spot of bother as Shehan who ended up with figures of 4 for 42 restricted them to a score of 189.

This was in reply to Moors score of 273 and Moors batting the second time ended the day on 187 for 4.A stand of 76 runs stand for the third wicket between Angelo Emmanuel and Prabodha Arthavidu could not prevent from Air Force go conceding a first inning lead to Colts at the Colts ground.

Air Force resuming on their overnight score of 66 for 2 were bowled out for 208 in reply to Colts score of 231. Colts were 68 for 3 in their second innings.Ragama CC has already secured a first inning lead over Navy in the match played at Welisara. Ragama CC after making a score of 213 fought back to restrict Navy who resumed from their overnight score of 64 for 4 to a score of 151 with Lahiru Jayaratne doing the damage.

The highlight of the match was the twin half tons scored by Rumesh Buddika who made 83 and 82 in Ragama CC’s second innings score of 231 for 4. BRC too managed to obtain a close first innings lead over Tamil Union when played stopped for lunch in the match played at the P. Sara Stadium. BRC resuming from their overnight score of 117 for 4 went on to make 184 in reply to home sides score of 173.
At Panadura

Chilaw Marians 116 (Prasansana Jayamanne 31, Ramindu Lakshan 24: Krishan Dinidu 5 for 38, Thenuka Dhananjaya 4 for 16) and 84 for no loss (Waqas Barkath 46 n.o., Shihan Jainudeen 32 n.o.)

Leo CC (126/4 overnight) 409 (Pubudu Asanka 166, Janishka Premasinghe 78, Mohamed Fazil 39, Kavindu Ashan 28, Malin Kumara 18, Ruchira Tharindra 16, Thenuka Dhananjaya 32 n.o.: Prasansana Jayamanne 3 for 77, Lahiru Sangeeth 3 for 112)
At Braybrooke Place.

Moors 273 (Lasith Abeyratne 51, Shehan Jayasuriya 34, Imras Rafi 31: Koshan Dhanushka 4 for 81, Ruvindu Shamen 2 for 16, Asantha Singappuli 2 for 31) and 187 for 4 (Shehan Jayasuriya 45, Ashan Priyanjan 88 n.o.: Ramith Rambukwella 3 for 63)
Bloomfield (95/1 overnight) 189 (Koshan Dhanushka 59, Nipun Karunanayake 40: Shehan Jayasuriya 4 for 42, Maduka Liyanapathirana 3 for 31)

At Colts
Colts 231 (Chathuranga Kumara 69, Shihan Kamileen 58, Hasitha Wickramasinghe 48: T. Nadeera 3 for 24, Sohan Rangika 2 for 24, Buddika Sandaruwan 2 for 43) and 68 for 3 (Shihan Kamileen 25 n.o.)

Air Force (66/2 overnight) 208 (Angelo Emmanuel 57, Prabodha Arthavidu 44, Shanaka Salinda 44, Wishwa Kanchuka 18: Akila Dhananjaya 5 for 52, Dilanka Auwardt 3 for 59)

At Welisara
Ragama CC 213 (Rumesh Buddika 83, Charith Fernando 30: Dulanjana Mendis 3 for 56, Chanaka Ruwansiri 2 for 27, Sujeewa Liyanage 2 for 39) and 231 for 4 (Rumesh Buddika 82, Shivanga Ranasuriya 68, Kaushalya Gajasinghe 21 n.o., Lahiru Milantha 19 n.o.: Dulajana Mendis 2 for 37)

Navy (64/4 overnight) 151 (Chanaka Ruwansiri 24, Dilan Chandima 20, Dulanjana Mendis 19, Yoshan Kumara 49 n.o.: Lahiru Jayaratne 6 for 63, Kaushalya Gajasinghe 4 for 38)

At P. Sara Stadium
Tamil Union 173 (Denuwan Rajakaruna 48, Chathuranga de Silva 18, Sunimal Dissanayake 37 n.o.: Daniel Bartholemeusz 5 for 38, Yasitha Abeykoon 2 for 17, Nalin Priyadarshana 2 for 27) and 127 for 4 (Kithruwan Withanage 39, Ashen Silva 32, Denuwan Rajakaruna 20, Ramesh Lakshitha 27 n.o.)

BRC (117/4 overnight) 184 (Madushan Ravichandrakumar 59, Yasitha Abeykoon 33, Hasitha Lakshan 22, Pranama Sri Vimukthi 19: Chathuranga de Silva 4 for 42, Ashen Silva 2 for 21)

Share This Post

comments powered by Disqus

Advertising Rates