JVP sacks rebel group from party
2008-11-24 17:44:09

The JVP has sacked 11 members including former propaganda secretary, Wimal Weerawansa, General Secretry of the party Tilvin Silva said.

The other members who are all MPs removed from the party are: Piyasiri Wijenayaka, Anjan Umma, Samansiri Herath, Udayshantha Gunasekera, Deepal Gunasekara, Nimal Jayasinghe, Mohammed Muzamil, Priyankara Weerakumara. Achala Suranga Jagoda and Jayantha Samaraweera.

A separate letter has been sent to the UPFA General Secretary calling for the cancellation of their parliamentary seats as well. They contested under the UPFA list in 2004 when the JVP were part of the alliance..

Top to the page  |  E-mail  |  views[1]


Reproduction of articles permitted when used without any alterations to contents and a link to the source page.
© Copyright 2008 | Wijeya Newspapers Ltd.Colombo. Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.| Site best viewed in IE ver 6.0 @ 1024 x 768 resolution