ISSN: 1391 - 0531
Sunday, April 01, 2007
Vol. 41 - No 44

Win for Dambulla Central

By L.D. Chandrasiri

Rangiri Dambulla Central College led by Eranda S. Ranjith posted a five wicket win over Weera Keppetipola Central College – Akuramboda to clinch the ‘Janaka Bandara Tennakoon’ Challenge Trophy in their 3rd annual limited overs cricket encounter ‘Battle of the city that does not sleep’ played at the Dambulla Central grounds on Friday March 23.

Winning the toss and elected to bat first Weera Keppetipola central led by Maduranga Herath made 129 all out in 25 overs with a top score of 30 from Malinda Jayasekara, who won the award for the best batsman.

Rangiri Dambulla central in their turn knocked off the required runs in 21.2 overs losing five wickets in the process. Darmapriya Ellegama who captured 3 wickets for 13 runs and stroked 16 runs for Dambulla Central was named the man of the match, while the best bowler’s award also went to Rangiri Dambulla Central’s Shanaka Ratnayake who returned figures (2) two wickets for four runs.

The award for the best fielder was won by Nandika Abeysinghe of Weera Keppetipola Central.

Chief scores:
Weera Keppetipola Central – 129 all out (20 overs): (M.P. Jayasekara 30, P. Dharmasiri 22, N. Abeysinghe 19, C. Rajapakse 14, S.R. Ratnayake 2/4, D. Ellegama 3/13).
Rangiri Dambulla Central – 133 for 5 wickets (21.2 overs): (Buddika Priyalal 29, Eranda Ranjith 18, D. Ellegama 16, Chamara Nishantha 13, C. Rajapakse 2/19, Gayan Subasinghe 1/26).

Top to the page

Copyright 2007 Wijeya Newspapers Ltd.Colombo. Sri Lanka.