Edirisuriya's 59 gives Asoka de Silva SC exciting victory
Wins inaugural U-14 Nelson Mendis challenge trophy beating CCC 'A' by two wickets
By Bilal Yusuf
A fine half century by Rajith Edirisuriya helped Asoka de Silva School of Cricket to record an exciting two wickets win over CCC "A" in the final of the inaugural under 14 cricket tournament for the Nelson Mendis challenge trophy which was played at CCC ground on Thursday.

With this win Asoka de Silva S.C become the first holders of the Nelson Mendis Challenge trophy. CCC won the toss and decided to take first lease of the wicket and were bowled out for 159 in the 41st over. Opening batsman Kusal Perera stroked an elegant 47, which consisted of four boundaries, skipper Bhanuka Rajapakse who has been the backbone of the CCC batting line up throughout the tournament chipped in with a quick fire 28 of 23 balls.

Leg spinner Malshan Gunasinghe was the pick of the bowler capturing 4 wickets for 28 runs. Asoka de Silva School of Cricket reached their target in the 40th over thanks to Rajith Edirisuriya who scored 59 which consisted of 7 boundries and a six. Edirisuriya was well supported by Nipun Karunaratne who scored 33. It was the pace trio of Saliheen Hewagama (2/17), Bhanuka Rajapakse (2/40) and Vigar Block (2/17) that caused some trouble to the batsman of Asoka de Silva S.C.

Nelson Mendis the Chairman of the organizing committee of the tournament and head coach of the CCC School of Cricket was a happy man after the tournament despite the loss his team faced in the final, " The organizing committee's objective was to ensure that the matches were played in the true spirit of the game, and this was achieved."

Nelson Mendis also profusely thanked his committee for their dedication and commitment in organizing this tournament and also thanked the sponsors and all participating teams for their support as well.

The organizing committee has already decided to make this tournament an annual event and hope to attract more foreign teams for next year's tournament.

CCC - 159 all out in 41 overs. ( K. Perera 47, B. Rajapakse 28, P. Dassanayake 17; M.Gunasinghe 4/28) Asoka de Silva S.C- 161 for 8 in 40 overs. (R.Edirisuriya 59, N.Karunanayake 33, N.Kalhara 21; S.Hewagama 2/17, B. Rajapakse 2/40, V.Block 2/17)

Man of the Final - Rajith Edirisuriya ( Asoka de Silva S.C); Best All rounder of the Tournament - Rajith Edirisuriya (Asoka de Silva S.C); Best Batsman of the Tournament - Bhanuka Rajapakse (CCC); Best Bowler of the Tournament - Malshan Gunasinghe (Asoka de Silva S.C); Best Fielder - of the Tournament - S.Sannan (Frank Anthony Public School, Bangalore).


Copyright © 2001 Wijeya Newspapers Ltd. All rights reserved.