Sharing the pleasures of Ceylon tea

Tea industry veteran Anselm Perera (left) and Gerald Vandergrift, director, US Tea Association and chairman of the Speciality Tea Registry (centre) and an unidentified American visitor are all smiles as they taste the Ceylon tea brews that won the American Speciality Tea Institute's Ceylon Estate Tea of the Year contest. The Grand Winner was a Kenmare FBOP (Nuwara Eliya) while the Runner-Up was Kirkoswald PEKOE (Dimbula). Lumbini FBOPF1 Extra Special (Ruhuna) won a Special Merit Award. The contest was part of the effort by the Ceylon tea industry, spearheaded by the Tea Board and the Ceylon Tea Traders' Association to promote the rich diversity of Ceylon tea among North American consumers. The campaign is to promote teas with distinct colours and flavours from the six main agro-climatic regions: Dimbula, Nuwara Eliya, Udapussellawa, Uva, Kandy and Ruhuna. The winners were formerly announced at a ceremony held at Asia Siyaka's sprawling warehouse in Muthurajawela last week.
Picture by J. Weerasekera.

More Business Back to Top  Back to Index

| Front Page | | News | | Editorial | | Columns | | Sports | | Plus | | Financial Times | | Mirror Magazine | | TV Times |

Copyright © 2001 Wijeya Newspapers Ltd. All rights reserved.