Clifford Fernando 85
The Inter-School Lemonade Trophy cricket match between Trinity and Sri Rahula ended in a draw at the Asgiriya yesterday. Skipper Clifford Fernando top- scored for Trinity with a determined 85. The feature of his innings was his driving on the off side. Hasantha Mendis struck an aggressive 49. Samitha Fernando who made an elegant 79 and opener Nalin Atapattu put on 108 for the third wicket for Sri Rahula.

Trinity 243-6 dec. in 80.4 overs. (S. Jayasinghe 27, I. Ratnayake 20, C. Fernando 85, H. Mendis 49; A.S. Gunaratne 2-32, A. Weerasekera 2-53. and 81 for no loss in 31 overs. (S. Jayasinghe 20 n.o. I. Ratnayake 50 n.o)

Sri Rahula 224 in 81 overs. (N. Atapattu 52, S. Fernando 79, N. Priyadarshana 37, A. Gunaratne 11; H. Mendis 2-25, H. Ponnamperuma 3/34, C. Dumbarange 2/53) - A.K.

Bloomfield '110 Not Out'
Bloomfield C&AC will celebrate its 110th Anniversary with a mega dinner dance on September 19 (Thursday) at the Trans Asia Hotel, Colombo. This event is a well deserved celebration for having reached 110 years of existence.

The club has come a long way originating from Campbell Park where the club house was formed during the colonial era. Those instrumental in forming this club were mostly 'Sahibs' holding high government posts together with a few local personalities previously known as 'Ceylonese'.

Time progressed and Bloomfield plodded on participating in cricket tournaments and since the early days settled itself at Reid Avenue. Since then Bloomfield has performed extremely well in tournaments and have carried away the Premier Trophies repeatedly.

A celebration of this magnitude was not planned before and hence the members and the executive committee thought that the time was right to have an event to celebrate its 110th Anniversary.

To make this event more colourful and in keeping with their theme '110 not out', the date fixed for the dance coincides with the ICC Mini World Cup Tournament which is now being held in Colombo. Bloomfield are making arrangements to invite all participating captains, playing members and officials of the visiting teams together with the Sri Lanka team to grace the occasion.

Bloomfield's very own Sanath Jayasuriya is in the forefront of the Organising Committee to make this anniversary celebrations a memorable success. Music will be by the Cosmic Rays and Pearl. The guest artistes are Ronnie Leitch and Nimal Jayamanne. Compere for the night will be Faizal Bongso. There will be a lot of prizes for the taking including 10 return air tickets

Big roar at Katukurunda track today
The SLARDAR organised Katukurunda Motor Races will get underway today starting from 8.30 a.m. This is the second event to be held at the track this year and will be the final event for the much looked forward SLARDAR championship to decide the best driver and rider for the year 2002. Before this workout five of the six events in deciding the respective champions were completed which began with the Katukurunda races, Radella Hill Climb, Foxhill Supercross, Karundupona Hill Climb and Gajaba Supercross.

Nineteen races are scheduled to commence today comprising of twelve motor car and seven motor cycle events. Ace driver Dinesh Deheragoda has virtually clinched the supercar award for the best driver having won his races in the earlier events. In the Group 'A' class there is a tussle between Nishan Wasalathanthri, Dilshard Hamdoon and Shalutha Adasuriya while veteran Rohan de Silva and Romani de Silva are battling for the Formula Car prize.

Motorcross riding specilaist Nalin Perera has won the motorcycle award with no one to give opposition to him. He has won four of the main events in the racing calendar this year. In the thoroughbred category rider Damien Goonatileke is in the lead and is well on the way to win his class.

For today's races Aravinda Premadasa who had some problem with his car at the beginning of the year has come back to his winning form. When the Sunday Times spoke to him he mentioned that "there was a default in his car which his mechanics had not been able to rectify but now they have found the mistake and he will be able to race with lesser hiccups."

Aravinda will go all out to win his events today. In the first motor races which was held at the Katukurunda track early this year his car met with a mishap. He won his two events at the Gajaba Supercross last month. Rizvi Farouk, Dinesh Deheragoda, Dinesh Senanayake, Rohan de Silva, Hafiz Cader, Sumanapala Mannapperuma and Yoga Perera are the other drivers who should be in the firing line.

Damian Goonatileke will be looking forward to repeat his earlier achievement at the Katukurundu track where he won both the races he participated in. He should have no difficulty in winning his events today.

Scheduled events for today - 1. Group 'P' Motor Cycles upto 125cc. 2. Group 'A' Mini Saloon 998cc. 3. Group 'R' Four Stroke upto 600cc. 4. Group 'R' motor Cycles upto 125cc. 5. Group 'M' and 'T' Cars upto 1050cc. 6. Group 'P' Motor Cycles upto 250cc. 7. Group 'F' Ford Formula 1600cc (Race 1).8. Group 'A' Cars Over 12kg/hp. 9. Group 'R' Motor Cycles upto 125cc. 10. Group 'M' and 'T' 1050cc upto 1350cc. 11. Group 'A' Cars 10-12 kg/hp. 12. Group 'R' Motro Cycles upto 250cc. 13. Group 'M' and 'T' Cars 1350cc upto 1665cc. 14. Group 'A' Cars 8-10 kg/hp. 15. Group 'F' Ford Formula 1600cc (Race 2). 16. Group 'T' and 'J' Truck and Jeep. 17. Group 'M' and 'T' Cars upto 3500cc. 18. Group 'A' Cars 6-8 kg/hp. 19. Motor Cycles Open Event. -M.S.A

Back to Top  Back to Sports  

Copyright © 2001 Wijeya Newspapers Ltd. All rights reserved.