Motorsports: Junaid and Chandrasoma win Mahindra-MRA Rally

12 November 2015 - 32   - 0

Leading rally drivers Shafraz Junaid and Sam Chandrasoma became joint winners of the Mahindra-MRA Rally 2015 in a unique manner with six debit points each when the motor rally in Colombo.   Shafraz with his co-driver Akhry Ameer (Nissan Datsun cab) and Sam with his co-driver Sarindu Gamage (Nissan Patrol) drove to an identical style achieving the same debits at the same checkpoints in both the stages.   The performance was unique as the two competitors beat all the rally rules for resolution of a tie leaving the organizers no option but to announce them as joint winners.   The rally saw 15 competitors driving approximately 400km from Colombo to Galle and back through a tarmac and gravel terrain which was made challenging with the onset of rains through the night.   The TSD (Time, Speed and Duration) or regularity rally requires the competitors to traverse a specified and grueling route sticking to a specific timing and avoid accruing debit points.   Nalaka Gunawardena, Javidh Wahab and rally veteran Cassim Wahab topped the rally prepared class and the overall championships with third to fifth places respectively.   Kasun Perera co-driven by Ramesh Ubhayaratna won the non-rally prepared class with a total 54 debit points.   Rain posed a challenge to the drivers from the starting line itself with the organisers having to end the first stage about 30 km from the scheduled finish in Galle owing to some of the roads being non-motorable.   However, in the second stage from Galle to Colombo the drivers were pleased to experience some water crossings with culverts and causeways reaching their brim.   The Mahindra-MRA Rally 2015 was organized by the Motor Racing Association (MRA) supported by Ideal Motors agents for Mahindra vehicles.

  Comments - 0

  • Leave a comment

Top Stories

Two injured in gas cylinder explosion in Dematagoda

Two persons have been hospitalised following what is believed to be a gas cylinder explosion in Mahawila Gardens this morning. According to...

15 September 2019 - Views : 46

Shantha Bandara to fill Dissanayake's vacant seat in Parliament

15 September 2019

SL to ink MoU for ferry service with India

14 September 2019

SLFP suspends membership of five national list MPs

14 September 2019



Features & Analysis

Otara among 25 chosen personalities to name endangered baby gorillas in Rwanda

Sri Lankan entrepreneur, Otara Gunewardene was invited by the Rwandan Government as an honorary guest to name a ...

Environmentalists, conservationists gather for tropical biodiversity conference in Sri Lanka

The 12th Asia-Pacific Chapter Meeting of the Association for Tropical Biology and Conservation (ATBC) got underw...

Shakespeare Drama Competition to get underway this month

The All Island Inter-School Shakespeare Drama Competition is back for the 46th year. The competition is organize...

In Pictures: Annual congregation of the Dawoodi Bohra community

More than 20,000 people attended the annual worldwide Bohra convention being held at a community centre at ...