U-19 Cricket: School tournament to be played in new format

14 September 2015 - 67   - 0

The Sri Lanka Schools Cricket Association (SLSCA) has decided to conduct the forthcoming Under-19 Inter-School cricket tournament by introducing a new format which they had been striving to introduce for the last few years.   Hence the executive committee of the SLSCA will be introducing the knockout tournament after the completion of the two day league tournament.   For the first time in the schools cricket a three-day tournament will be played, from the semi-finals onwards of the knockout stage.   The knockout which was to be introduced earlier had objections from some leading cricket-playing schools citing it would be hindrance and would affect their traditional big matches.   According to sources there were no objections from anyone in the introduction of the new format.   As in the past the league tournament will be two days duration with 36 teams divided into four groups in the fray.   The top four teams from the four groups will contest in the knockout stage with pre-quarter-finals and quarter-finals being played over two days.   The semi-finals and final will be played over three days.   Trinity College, the champions of last year is slotted in Group ‘A’ while runner-up Thurstan College is in Group ‘B’.   There will be no change in the limited overs tournament which will be as usual where 48 teams will contest with 28 teams from Division I, 16 teams from Division II and four teams from the Division III categories.   The teams:   Group ‘A’: Trinity, Ananda, De Mazenod Kandana, Dharmaraja Kandy, Maliyadeva, St. Aloysius’ Galle, St. Anthony’s Wattala, St. Benedict’s and Bandaranaike College, Gampaha.   Group ‘B’: Thurstan, Royal Colombo, Mahanama Colombo, Mahinda Galle, Maris Stella Negombo, Prince of Wales, Royal Panadura, Zahira Colombo and St. Joseph’s.   Group ‘C’: Lumbini MV, Anuradhapura Central, Dharmasoka MV Ambalangoda, Gurukula MV Kelaniya, Holy Cross Kalutara, Isipathana, Moratu MV, Richmond Galle and St. Servatius’ Matara.   Group ‘D’: St. Peter’s Bambalapitiya, D.S. Senanayake College, Dharmapala Pannipitiya, Nalanda, President’s Rajagiriya, S. Thomas’ Mt. Lavinia, St. Sebastian’s Moratuwa, St. Sylvester’s Kandy and St. Joseph Vaz Wennappuwa.

  Comments - 0

  • Leave a comment

Top Stories

14 suspects further remanded for vandalizing statues in Mawanella

Fourteen suspects have been have been further remanded until September 5 over charges of vandalizing statues by the Mawanella Magistrate's...

22 August 2019 - Views : 19

Met Dept. forecasts heavy showers, winds during next 24 hours

22 August 2019

Illegal miners released on fine of more than Rs 300,000

22 August 2019

EC requests state officials to prepare information for postal vote

22 August 2019



Features & Analysis

Discovery of exoplanets by Lankan Team

For the first time in the island’s history, a group of Sri Lankans has discovered a new extra-solar planetary s...

'Mega Pride - Pride of the Lion' photographic exhibition

The ‘Mega Pride – Pride of the Lion’ photographic exhibition by the Minister of Megapolis and Weste...

'Strings of Harmony' : Celebrations to mark the 73rd Independence Day of India

‘Strings of Harmony’ – a Santoor Jugalbandi by Pandit Shiv Kumar Sharma and his son Pandit Rahul Sh...

Sri Lankan Handicrafts Day in Beijing

The Embassy of Sri Lanka in Beijing in collaboration with the International Bamboo and Rattan Organization (INBAR), o...