Champika and Wijedasa Rajapakshe appointed to Constitutional Council

9 September 2015 - 47   - 0

Ministers Patali Champika Ranawaka and Wijeyadasa Rajapakshe have been  appointed to the Constitutional Council. Ranawaka was named as the President's representative of the council while Rajapakshe was appointed as the Prime Minister's representative. Five members of the Constitutional Council have now been named. The Speaker, the Prime Minister and the Opposition Leader were automatically appointed to the council when they were elected to their respective offices. Two other MPs and three civil society members are yet to be appointed.

  Comments - 0

  • Leave a comment

Top Stories

Customs DG asked to appear before Presidential Commission on Oct 16

Customs Director General P S M Charles has been asked to appear before the Presidential Commission of Inquiry (PCoI) on state sector corruptio...

14 October 2019 - Views : 74

Police discover two claymore mines upon questioning of arrested ex-LTTE cadre

14 October 2019

SLPP confident of winning minority votes at Presidential poll : Prof. G.L. Peiris

14 October 2019

Growth in South Asia slows down, rebound uncertain-World Bank

14 October 2019

Features & Analysis

English Lit Societies of Ladies and STC present LitCon

The English Literary Societies of Ladies' College and S.Thomas' College Mt.Lavinia proudly present LitCon ...

Dog Walk and Carnival by Rotaract Club of Colombo Central

In keeping with the aims of Community Service in Rotaract, the Rotaract Club of Colombo Central has organized a &ldqu...

In Pictures: Pro World Surf League

The So Sri Lanka Pro World Surf League (WSL) Qualifying Series (QS) 3000 event which concluded recently played host t...

Lal Wickrematunge bids adieu

Australia is an important ally of Sri Lanka and diplomatic relations between the two countries date back to 1947. Sri...