Journalists shine at awards night

29 July 2015 - 189   - 0

The annual Journalism Awards for Excellence Programme jointly organized by the Editors' Guild of Sri Lanka (TEGOSL) and the Sri Lanka Press Institute (SLPI) was held last evening at the Mount Lavinia Hotel. This year was the 16th edition of the industry driven Awards programme, which was first begun by the Editors' Guild in 1998. The programme aims to recognize and rewarding excellence in the field of journalism. M. Nihal Seneviratne, Chairman of the Dispute Resolution Council of the Press Complaints Commission of Sri Lanka graced the occasion as the Chief Guest. Seneviratne was former Secretary General of Parliament. This year entries were received for 14 categories, which are listed below: * Mervyn de Silva Journalist of the Year - K. Sanjeewa of the Ravaya publication *Scoop of the Year - Kasun  Pussewela of the Ravaya publication *Award for Investigative Journalist of the Year - Nirmala Kannangara -The SUnday Leader *Best Environmental Reporter of the Year - Nadia Fazlulhaq - The Sunday Times *Subramaniyam Chettiar Award for Reporting on Social Issues- winner - K. Sanjeewa of the Ravaya, Merit Awards - Joseph Stephen, Daily Virakesari, Cnamara Amarasooriya of Rivira, Chamelia Nathaniel the Sunday Leader. *Sports Journalist of the Year (Merit Awards) Chamila Karawita -Divaina, Channaka de Silva -Daily Mirror *Denzil Peiris Young Reporter of the Year (Under 26 years) - Kamanthi Wickremesinghe - Daily Mirror *Photojournalist of the Year - Lalith Perera- The Leader, Kushan Sangeeth Pathiraja - Daily Mirror *Best Designed Newspaper of the Year - Winner - Ravaya Newspaper, Merit - The Nation *Business Journalist of the Year (Three Awards: Sinhala, Tamil and English) *Upali Wijewardene Feature Writer of the Year  - Randima Atygalle - Sunday  Island, Ruwan Jayawardane - Irida Divaina, Alagan Kanagaraj -Tamil Mirror *Cartoonist of the Year - Avantha Atygalle - Daily Mirror, Merit - Gihan de Chickera Daily Mirror, Namal Amarasinghe - Tamil Mirror *B. A. Siriwardena Columnist of the Year  : Wimalanath Weerarathne - Ravaya, Merit Amarasiri Wickramaratne - Maubima *Prof. K. Kailasapathy Award for Reporting under Special Circumstances - Balenthiran  Piratheepan - Sunday Thinakkural Besides the above Awards, The Editors Guild selects five senior journalists for the Lifetime Achievement Awards, the D.R. Wijewardene Award is for Recognition by Peers and the Public and the Sepala Gunasena Award for Press Freedom. The Life Time Achievement Awards for 2014 go to: Binoy Kumar Wickrama Surendra, Latheef Farook, Nihal Ratnaike, Saranapala Pamunuwa and S. Thillainathan.   2 3 4 J 1 131211109876 2 3 4 1 5 6

  Comments - 0

  • Leave a comment

Top Stories

Two injured in gas cylinder explosion in Dematagoda

Two persons have been hospitalised following what is believed to be a gas cylinder explosion in Mahawila Gardens this morning. According to...

15 September 2019 - Views : 36

Shantha Bandara to fill Dissanayake's vacant seat in Parliament

15 September 2019

SL to ink MoU for ferry service with India

14 September 2019

SLFP suspends membership of five national list MPs

14 September 2019



Features & Analysis

Otara among 25 chosen personalities to name endangered baby gorillas in Rwanda

Sri Lankan entrepreneur, Otara Gunewardene was invited by the Rwandan Government as an honorary guest to name a ...

Environmentalists, conservationists gather for tropical biodiversity conference in Sri Lanka

The 12th Asia-Pacific Chapter Meeting of the Association for Tropical Biology and Conservation (ATBC) got underw...

Shakespeare Drama Competition to get underway this month

The All Island Inter-School Shakespeare Drama Competition is back for the 46th year. The competition is organize...

In Pictures: Annual congregation of the Dawoodi Bohra community

More than 20,000 people attended the annual worldwide Bohra convention being held at a community centre at ...