SLFP suspends membership of five national list MPs

14 September 2019 - 397   - 2

The Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) has suspended the memberships of five of its national list parliamentarians who obtained membership of another party.

The members are Lakshman Yapa Abeywardena, S.B. Dissanayake, Dilan Perera, Vijith Vijayamuni Soyza, and A.H.M. Fowzi, SLFP General Secretary Dayasiri Jayasekara said.

Mr. Jayasekara said that the party would take steps to inform these members of the decision in writing.

  Comments - 2

  • Voter Saturday, 14 September 2019 06:12 PM

    What happens to their Parliamentary seats?

    Reply : 0       0


    Kumara Saturday, 14 September 2019 08:41 PM

    @Voter These five will go to Courts to argue "their unfair dismissal" and Courts would suspend dismissal order (if there is any) until the case is heard. The case will drag on until the current term of Parliament expires.

    Reply : 0       0

    Leave a comment

Top Stories

Prime Minister's Secretary before Presidential Commission tomorrow

Prime Minister's Secretary Saman Ekanayake has been asked to appear before the Presidential Commission of Inquiry (PCoI) probing state sector c...

21 October 2019 - Views : 51

Gotabhaya blames current government for neglecting national security

21 October 2019

Chilaw PS member arrested after attempting to stab wife

21 October 2019

Dissanayake vows to transform Trinco oil farm into international storage facility

21 October 2019

Features & Analysis

Special screening programme for breast cancer at Early Detection Centre in Narahenpita

October is designated as ‘Breast Cancer Awareness Month’, worldwide. Cancer ranks amongst the leading thr...

The Wolf is back! ‘Big Bad Wolf Book Sale’ to get underway from tomorrow

The wolf is here with books for us to devour! The highly anticipated ‘Big Bad Wolf Sale’ which is open to...

Toyota's latest Rav4, Corolla and HIACE hit the streets

Toyota Lanka (Pvt) Ltd, the sole authorized dealer for Toyota vehicles and spare parts in Sri Lanka recently launched...

English Lit Societies of Ladies and STC present LitCon

The English Literary Societies of Ladies' College and S.Thomas' College Mt.Lavinia proudly present LitCon ...