Top economist appointed to Sri Lanka’s Monetary Board 

7 August 2019 - 435   - 1

Top economist, Dr (Ms) Dushni Weerakoon has been appointed as a member of the Monetary Board of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka with effect from July 29, 2019. 

Dr. Weerakoon is the Executive Director of the Institute of Policy Studies of Sri Lanka (IPS) and Head of its Macroeconomic Policy research. She joined the IPS in 1994 on completing her PhD, and has written and published widely on macroeconomic policy, regional trade integration and international economics, the bank said on Tuesday. 

She has extensive experience in public policy engagement and currently serves on the Trade and Productivity Commission (2019 -), Ministry of Development Strategies and International Trade; and has served on the Committee of Experts to Formulate the National Sustainable Development Vision of Sri Lanka: 2030, Presidential Secretariat (2017-18); Committee on Trade Policy Formulation, Ministry of Development Strategies and International Trade (2016); Trade and Tariff Committee, Ministry of Finance (2004-10); Committee of Experts to negotiate the South Asian Free Trade Agreement, Ministry of Trade and Commerce (2004-05); and Macro and Trade Policy Steering Committee, Ministry of Policy Development and Implementation (2002-04), amongst others. 

She has worked as a consultant to international organizations such as the ADB, World Bank, UN-ESCAP, UNDP and ILO, and served as a resource person on the Asia-Pacific Regional Trade Policy Course conducted by the World Trade Organization (WTO) and University of Hong Kong (2003-06). She serves currently as a Series Editor for the South Asia Economic and Policy Studies for Springer publications, Editors-in-Chief of the South Asia Economic Journal, Editorial Board of the Journal of South Asian Development, and as Editor of the IPS’ annual flagship report ‘Sri Lanka: State of the Economy’. 

She has experience as a director on the boards of corporate and academic entities, including as an Independent Non-Executive Director at the Nations Trust Bank (2007-2016), Cargills Bank (2018-2019), and as a Director at the Centre for Poverty Analysis (2008-2014), Gamani Corea Foundation (2018 -), and Social Policy Analysis and Research Centre (SPARC) of the University of Colombo (2018 -). 

  Comments - 1

  • Citizen Wednesday, 7 August 2019 03:16 PM

    In whose place is the new member appointed?

    Reply : 0       1

    Leave a comment

Top Stories

Ban on extremist groups to continue despite withdrawal of Emergency : Police

The government's decision to end the state of emergency will not affect the ban on extremist groups and the investigations into the Easter Sund...

24 August 2019 - Views : 94

President instructs tri-forces to maintain security as govt. withdraws Emergency

24 August 2019

Heavy showers, winds predicted today

24 August 2019

Water levels in Central region reservoirs rise by 80 percent - engineers

24 August 2019



Features & Analysis

How concept bookstore 'Venpaa' in Jaffna is meeting a need for Tamil literature

'Venpaa' in Tamil refers to a branch of classical Tamil poetry. Bearing this classic Tamil name, a distinctiv...

In pictures : Groundbreaking ceremony for 'Fantasy Island' theme park at Battaramulla

Waters Edge, together with Melchers Project Management Ltd having announced plans to build a theme park overlook...

Bharatha Natyam Recital at the Swami Vivekananda Cultural Centre

A Bharatha Natyam Recital by Anuka King will take place at the Swami Vivekananda Cultural Centre (SVCC), Hi...

Discovery of exoplanets by Lankan Team

For the first time in the island’s history, a group of Sri Lankans has discovered a new extra-solar planetary s...