Dialog-ST 2019: Thanusha Sandaruwan shifts gears in Emerging Schools category

1 April 2019 - 60   - 0

Thanusha Sandaruwan Costa of St. John's College, Nugegoda, made a sudden acceleration to his pace to claim the second place of the Emerging Schools category, while the leaders of all three segments remain unchanged at the end of 24th week of the Dialog 4G-the Sunday Times Most Popular Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year 2019 contest. 

Thanusha claimed 3025 votes during the ended week, to take his tally to 11939, to dislodge Vishal Nagasena of St. Peter's Gampaha, from the second place and gain a slight lead of 206 against him. 

However he is trailing leader of Emerging Schools category, Lithija Kalhara of Ananda Maithree NS, Balangoda by 6386 votes. With just a couple of coupons and three weeks remaining, anything could be possible in the segment. 

All-Island Schools category leader Navod Paranavithana of Mahinda College Galle took his tally to a landmark level, by reaching 55020 after adding 6576 combined votes in the ended week. 

Navod has indicated of a styled finish as he leads Pasindu Ushetti of Maris Stella College Negombo by a massive 19439, a far more improved deficit compared to last week. 

Sathya Sadeepani of Devapathiraja College Rathgama continues to cruise along as the leader of the Girls' Schools category, which was introduced to the ever popular competition in the country last season. 

She leads her team-mate Kaveesha Dilhari by 4158 votes. 

Coupons will be published in the Sunday Times, the two English dailies, the Daily Mirror and DailyFT, and the two Sinhala dailies, Daily Lankadeepa and Ada, Sinhala Weekend Deshaya and TamilMirror. 

In addition supporters and followers can reach Dialog Axiata's online voting system by loggin into their official Online Portal to vote for the Most Popular Cricketer ( 

Schools have been categorised under three categories -- the All-Island, Emerging and Girls schools, according to the segmentation process of Sri Lanka School Cricket Association. 


The Dialog 4G-the Sunday Times Most Popular Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year 2019 contest will come to a close after the two remaining coupons complete the whole of 26 weeks. 

Contestants, supporters and schools will have just few more weeks to see their star schoolboy cricketer finish in style. 

The final week will be the second week of April, where Coupon No.26 will appear for the last time on April 10. 

However considering the holiday season coming up and non-publishing days into account, the Coupon No.26 will be accepted up to 12.00noon on April 22, a Monday. 

Results: Week 24 

All-Island Schools 

Navod Paranavithana (Mahinda College) 55020 

Pasindu Ushetti (Maris Stella College) 35581 

Muizz Rafeel (St. Anne's College, Kurunegala) 8641 

Lakshitha Rasanjana (Nalanda College) 7858 

Sukhitha Manoj (St. Sebastian's College, Moratuwa) 3844 

Mihisal Vidanapathirana (St. Thomas' College, Matara) 3785 

Yasitha Samararathne (Dharmaraja College) 1866 

Nishan Madushka (Moratu Vidyalaya) 1333 

Abhishek Anandakumar (Trinity College) 1113 

Kanishka Ranthilakage (Ananda College) 982 

Ravindu Fernando (Maris Stella College) 432

Shehan Fernando (St. Benedict's College) 419

Supun Sumanarathne (Maliyadeva College, Kurunegala) 398

K.A.L.C. Warnakulasuriya (St. Anne's College, Kurunegala) 253

Shevon Daniel (St. Joseph's College) 113

Nuwanidu Fernando (St. Sebastian's College, Moratuwa) 51

Randheer Ranasinghe (St. Anne's College, Kurunegala) 38

Sandun Mendis (Richmond College) 27

Dinitha Prabhanaka (Devapathiraja College, Rathgama) 17

Kalana Perera (S. Thomas' College) 8

Pubudu Bandara (Trinity College) 6

Emerging Schools 

Lithija Kalhara (Ananda Maithree, Balangoda) 18325 

Thanusha Sandaruwan (St. John's College, Nugegoda) 11939 

Vishal Nagasena (St. Peter's College, Gampaha) 11733 

Chamod Sandaru (Piliyandala Central) 7298 

Roshen Samuel (Carey College) 1859 

Sachin Jayasinghe (Royal College, Panadura) 314 

Nisal Malinga (Christ King College, Tudella) 203 

Lahiru Peiris (Christ King College, Tudella) 101 

Avishka Lakshan (Kalutara Vidyalaya) 64 

Girls' Schools 

Sathya Sandeepani (Devapathiraja College, Ratgama) 6232 

Kaveesha Dilhari (Devapathiraja College, Ratgama) 2074 

Sithmi Nirasha (Anula Vidyalaya, Nugegoda) 1847 

Nimesha Tharuni (Marapola MV, Minuwangoda) 229 

Readers prizes go to: 1. Devindree Peiris, 32, Agarada Guru Mawatha,Tudella, Ja Ela, 2. R.R. Bopegamage, 362/A211, Hamuge Hena, Udupila, Delgoda, 3. Asoka Gunasekara, Mahagedara, Borala, Palmadulla, 4. Chanuka Ruvinda Fernando, 62, Pushparama Road, Pothupitiya, Wadduwa.

  Comments - 0

  • Leave a comment

Top Stories

Sri Lanka launches National Card Scheme

Sri Lanka’s Central Bank (CB) together with LankaClear (Pvt) Ltd (LCPL) this week achieved a significant milestone in the country’s pay...

25 June 2019 - Views : 6

Sri Lanka’s offers $2 bn International Sovereign Bond

25 June 2019

US revises travel advisory on Sri Lanka

25 June 2019

24-hour water cut in certain parts of the country

25 June 2019



Features & Analysis

Army personnel complete Chemical Biological Radiological and Nuclear (CBRN) training

The Sri Lanka School of Military Engineering at Embilipitiya as a supportive follow-up of the 7th Army to Army Staff ...

Monthly lecture of the Wildlife and Nature Protection Society on Climate Change and our responsibility

The monthly lecture of the Wildlife and Nature Protection Society will take place today at the BMICH on the them...

Ministry of Crab to hold fundraiser for Easter victims at Shangri-La Hotel at The Shard in July

Ministry of Crab, will hold a fundraiser for victims of this year’s Sri Lanka attacks with a charity pop-up res...

Embassy of Sri Lanka gifts two Buddha statues to the Embassy of Cambodia in Berlin

The Embassy of Sri Lanka in Berlin gifted two Buddha statues to the Embassy of Cambodia in Berlin, upon a request mad...