New set of ministers appointed today

11 January 2019 - 188   - 0

A new set of ministers took oaths before President Maithripala Sirisena at the Presidential Secretariat today (Jan 11).

Two non-cabinet ministers and a deputy minister were sworn in accordingly.

The appointments are as follows : 

Non-cabinet ministers

  • Ravindra Samaraweera - (Non Cabinet) Minister for Labour & Trade Union Relations
  • V. Radhakrishnan - (Non Cabinet) Minister for Special Area Development

Deputy Minister

  • Abdullah Maharoof - Deputy Minister for Ports & Shipping, before President


  Comments - 0

  • Leave a comment

Top Stories

Registration of Electors Act to be amended

The cabinet of ministers has agreed to amend the Registration of Electors Act upon a proposal put forward by President Maithripala Sirisena yesterd...

20 July 2019 - Views : 51

Laws to be introduced preventing civilians from wearing of army fatigues or identical uniforms

20 July 2019

Four suspects involved in VIP convoy assault incident remanded until July 22

20 July 2019

Women's support helpline to report harassment and abuse gets Cabinet nod

20 July 2019



Features & Analysis

In Pictures : French National Day

The French National Day was held recently at the Colombo Hilton. Captured here are images from the evening. Pix by Am...

SOS Children’s Village celebrates 100th birth anniversary of its founder

SOS Children’s Villages Sri Lanka recently celebrated ‘SOS Day’ honoring the 100th birth anniversar...

Car-free day draws a crowd

Colombo’s first open street concept day saw residents reclaiming their streets from Green Path to Independ...

Reviving our island spirit - #DineEscapeRebuild

The Island Story, a brand new travel company with a fresh perspective on travel is collaborating with Botanik Rooftop...