Two new Ministers sworn in today : TNA MP Viyalendiran defects to the government

2 November 2018 - 170   - 0

The swearing in ceremony of two Ministers took place at the Presidential Secretariat today.

Accoridngly, Tamil National Alliance (TNA) parlimentarian S Viyalendiran was sworn in as the Minister of Regional Development for the Eastern Province while S.B. Nawinne was sworn in as the Minister of Cultural Affairs, Internal Affairs and Regional Development.

Incidentally, Minister S Viyalendiran was the first TNA parliamentarian to defect to the new government.

Related stories

New Cabinet Appointments - see new list

Swearing in at the Presidential Secretariat concludes; see list

  Comments - 0

  • Leave a comment

Top Stories

Prime Minister's Secretary before Presidential Commission tomorrow

Prime Minister's Secretary Saman Ekanayake has been asked to appear before the Presidential Commission of Inquiry (PCoI) probing state sector c...

21 October 2019 - Views : 33

Gotabhaya blames current government for neglecting national security

21 October 2019

Chilaw PS member arrested after attempting to stab wife

21 October 2019

Dissanayake vows to transform Trinco oil farm into international storage facility

21 October 2019

Features & Analysis

Special screening programme for breast cancer at Early Detection Centre in Narahenpita

October is designated as ‘Breast Cancer Awareness Month’, worldwide. Cancer ranks amongst the leading thr...

The Wolf is back! ‘Big Bad Wolf Book Sale’ to get underway from tomorrow

The wolf is here with books for us to devour! The highly anticipated ‘Big Bad Wolf Sale’ which is open to...

Toyota's latest Rav4, Corolla and HIACE hit the streets

Toyota Lanka (Pvt) Ltd, the sole authorized dealer for Toyota vehicles and spare parts in Sri Lanka recently launched...

English Lit Societies of Ladies and STC present LitCon

The English Literary Societies of Ladies' College and S.Thomas' College Mt.Lavinia proudly present LitCon ...