Dialog-ST 2018: Sunday Times Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year 2018 selections complete

14 May 2018 - 76   - 0

Now that the nitty-gritties of agreeing upon as who the best schoolboy/girl cricketers for the year 2018 are over, we are now ready to announce as who they are shortly. 

Besides; this time the venue would be the BMICH and the date will be, Wednesday, June 20.
The selection process of the Dialog 4G-the Sunday Times Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year 2018 was held at Hotel Galadari in Colombo on April 25 by a eighteen strong selection panel headed by cricket doyen Jayantha Seneviratne, who is a former national cricketer and a national selector himself. 

As held customarily, the process was a hectic exercise for the members of the panel which had experts of the game and representatives from Sri Lanka Schools Cricket Association (SLSCA) and Association of Cricket Umpires'. 

Under Seneviratne's versatile leadership, the panel included former prominent cricketers, who are presently holding top positions in cricket administration. 

As it is done annually all the best performances were considered in all categories of All-Island Schools and Emerging Schools in addition to looking out for the best team overall and teams that did well from respective regions. 

Once again performances of the Singer Schools Under-19 Cricket Tournaments, traditional fixtures and international commitments were considered during the selection process. 

As it happens annually, Dialog 4G-the Sunday Times Most Popular Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year 2018 has done the justification of the talents of the youngsters who showcased their talents locally as well as internationally. 

The talent of all schoolboy cricketers were scrutinized before being picked by the panel of experts. 

Besides Chairman Seneviratne the others who contributed with their expertise were Brendan Kuruppu, Carlton Bernadus, Aubrey Kuruppu, Upul Sumathipala and Lakshman Ranasinghe as independent judges. 

SLSCA officials Oshara Panditharathna (President and Co-Chairman of Selection Panel), Dilshan de Silva (Secretary), Jagath Senaratne (Vice President), Kapila Jayalath (Vice President), Nihal Fernando (Treasurer), Kamal Indrajith (U-19 Tournament Secretary), the Association of Cricket Umpires' -- Daminda Cooray (Vice President), Harsha Perera (Vice President), Rohitha Kottachchi (General Secretary), Thassim Junkeer (Assignment Secretary, Rohan Chandrakantha (Assistant General Secretary) and Nishantha Dissanayake (ExCo/Provincial Representative). 

The statistics for selection was provided by run headed by Kumara Gamhewage and his team consisting Chaminda Kaushan, Eranga Madushanka and Viraj. 

The coordinator for the selection and the event once again was Ajit Bodinagoda.

  Comments - 0

  • Leave a comment

Top Stories

New Prison Police unit to be established

A new prison police unit will be established within the Prisons Department following the recent dissolution of the Prison intelligence Unit, Minist...

16 August 2018 - Views : 13

Sri Lanka condoles passing away of ex Indian PM Atal Bihari Vajpayee

16 August 2018

UK extends partnership with UNDP to support resettlement of 2500 war affected families in N&E

16 August 2018

Training programmes for new entrepreneurs with assistance of CBSL: Mangala

16 August 2018



Features & Analysis

Singer Diana King arrives in the island ahead of the Colombo Music Festival

It was a star studded morning at the Cinnamon Grand as headliner Diana King of Cinnamon Life's Colombo Music Fest...

In Pictures: Madhu Feast

The Madhu Church festival takes place every year in August when thousands of Catholic devotees flock from all over th...

Members of Big Mountain arrrive in the island ahead of Cinnamon Life's Colombo Music Festival

Richard ‘Goofey’ Campbell along with  other members of Big Mountain arrived in Sri Lanka yesterday a...

Celebrating India's 71st Anniversary of Independence with Bollywood singing icon Usha Uthup in concert

The High Commission of India is proud to present “Symphony of Freedom” by legendary Bollywood playback si...