SL in Ban: Sri Lanka looking to ride on momentum

18 February 2018 - 185   - 0

Sri Lanka will look to ride on the momentum they have gained so far to win the T20 series against hosts Bangladesh when the two teams meet for the last time in the series at the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium on Sunday (18).
Despite a disappointing start to the series in Bangladesh, Sri Lanka fought back brilliantly to win the ODI tri-series also involving Zimbabwe, then the two-match Test series 1-0. 

And on Thursday (15), a solid batting effort saw Sri Lanka crushing the tigers by six wickets after the hosts made a home record score of 193 for 5.  

A win in Sylhet will be the icing on the cake for a successful tour--their first in many moons. 

After an indifferent 2017, Sri Lanka were desperate for a change of fortune. 

With Chandika Hathurusingha taking over as coach, they have done reasonably well even though sterner tests will decide where they really stand. 

The plus, however, is the positive intent they have shown in the current series. 

Batsmen displayed great aggression on Thursday which helped Sri Lanka reach home with 20 balls to spare. 

Kusal Mendis, Dasun Shanaka and Thisara Perera all put up super performances with the bat to help a comfortable chase. 

On a pitch with little support for bowlers, Sri Lanka did admirably-- particularly the three frontline bowlers Thisara Perera, Akila Dananjaya and Jeevan Mendis--to keep it tight on Thursday. 

Bangladesh need a quick turnaround to square the series, after a disappointing run so far but the visitors will look to flow with the momentum to leave Bangladesh on a high. 

Bangladesh: Mahmudullah (capt), Abu Hider Rony, Abu Jayed, Afif Hossain, Ariful Haque, Mehedi Hasan, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mustafizur Rahman, Nazmul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Sabbir Rahman, Soumya Sarkar, Tamim Iqbal, Zakir Hasan. 

Sri Lanka: Dinesh Chandimal (capt), Amila Aponso, Akila Dananjaya, Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Asitha Fernando, Danushka Gunathilaka, Shehan Madushanka, Jeevan Mendis, Kusal Mendis, Thisara Perera, Dasun Shanaka, Upul Tharanga, Isuru Udana, Jeffrey Vandersay.

  Comments - 0

  • Leave a comment



Features & Analysis

Car-free day draws a crowd

Colombo’s first open street concept day saw residents reclaiming their streets from Green Path to Independ...

Reviving our island spirit - #DineEscapeRebuild

The Island Story, a brand new travel company with a fresh perspective on travel is collaborating with Botanik Rooftop...

Huawei shutterbug competition "Beautiful Sri Lanka" ends on a high

Huawei recently organized a competition for shutterbugs under the theme "Beautiful Sri Lanka" The w...

Hidden coral reef discovered off Kankasanthurai harbour

A diving team attached to the Northern Naval Command recently discovered a beautiful coral reef which remained a well...