Football: Colombo FC and Renown meet in Dialog Champions League finals on Sunday

14 January 2018 - 85   - 0

The title decider of the Dialog Champions League football competition between Renown SC and Colombo FC will take place on Sunday (14) starting at 6.00pm at the Race Course ground. 

“We are unbeaten in 16 games and right now we are in top condition. Defeating Colombo FC is not going to be a major problem. We are in full training. We will take the Dialog Champions League to Kotahena”, says Raumi Mohideen, Renown SC captain. 

Mohammed Rifnas, the Colombo FC skipper in reply says, “We have won the Cup on two occasions. This time too we are certain of winning the Cup. Our players are in top condition.” 

Colombo FC team was inaugurated in 2008 and is nine years old. 

They have won the Dialog Champions League on two occasions (2015 and 2016). 

They have won the FA Cup in 2015. 

Renown FC is 38 years old. 

It was inaugurated in 1981. 

They have won the FA Cup on six occasions (1986 – 87, 1988-89, 1989-90, 1993-94, 1994-95 and 2002-2003). 

They have not won the Dialog Champions League so far. 

There are three foreign players, playing for each team. 

They have given the chance for foreign players to win the game. 

Both teams have completed 16 matches each. 

This will be the last game in the tournament. 

Renown is leading with 40 points. 

Defending champions Colombo FC have collected 37 points. 

Renown are unbeaten having won 12 matches. 

Four games have ended in draws. 

They have scored 44 goals in the contest and have 17 goals scored against them. 

The goal difference is 17. 

They are the defending runners-up. 

Colombo FC have triumphed 11 matches having drawn four games and have lost one and have scored 45 goals. 

Eleven goals have been scored against them. 

In case the game ends in a draw Renown are certain of emerging champions. 

If Colombo FC wins they will have equal number of points as Renown. 

According to tournament rules the winner will be adjudged the title winner. 

How Renown SC fared: Renown beat Up Country Lions 4-1; Beat Moragasmulla 3-2; Beat Negombo Youth 3-2; Beat SL Navy SC 3-1; Beat SL Police SC 3-0; Beat New Youngs SC 5-1; Beat Army SC 3-2; Beat Crystal Palace FC 4-1; Beat Pelicans SC 3-1; Beat Blue Star FC 4-0; Beat Super Sun SC 2-0; Beat Solid SC 3-2; Drew with Saunders SC 1-1; Drew with Java Lane SC 1-1; Drew with Matara City SC 2-2; Drew with Air Force SC 0-0. 

How Colombo FC fared: Beat Moragasmulla SC 2-0; Beat Matara City SC 1-0; Beat Police SC 7-1; Beat Up Country Lions SC 3-0; Beat Solid SC 7-3; Beat Crystal Palace FC 6-1; Beat Blue Star FC 5-0; Beat SL Navy SC 2-0; Beat Negombo Youth SC 7-1; Beat Air Force SC 2-1; Beat Army SC 1-0. Lost to Matara City SC 0-1; Drew with Pelicans SC 0-0; Drew with Saunders SC 1 all; Drew with New Youngs SC 1 all; Drew with Java Lane SC 1 all. 

The Golden Boot will be awarded for the highest number of goals scored. 

The Best Goal keeper will be awarded the Golden Glove. 

The Most Valuable Player will be awarded the Golden Bowl. 

The winning team will receive Rs. 700,000 while the runners-up will be in line for Rs. 500,000. 

Colombo FC: K.D.A. Buddhika Perera, M.C. Chalana Chameera, M.L. Mohamed Haslan, A.A. Faslur Rahaman, B.G.A.D.K. De Silva, M.A.A. Mohamed Shifan, H.V. Niran Kaniska, A.R. Ahamed Shazni, S. Yusoof, M.S. Jein, M.R. Mohideen, M.Y.A. Fasmin, R.M.S. Perera, T.R. Tuwan Fahath, M.N. Mohamed Fazal, M.M.M. Mufees, M.M.U. Munawwar, M. Zarwan Johar, M.F. Mohamed Aakib, M.F.M. Fazal, M. Safran Sattar, S.S.K. Lakpriya Fernando, M.N. Afeel Mohamed, F.M. Ashik Mohamed, P.S. Samuvel, M.S. Zulfikar Ahamed, Ogudugu Ismaila Abumere, M. Nasiru Opeyemi, J. S. Jean Furic Momas. 

Renown SC: S. Mohamed Riyal, M.C.M. Rizni, Mohamed Hakkem, M. Imyas Mohamed Imran, H. Shamil Ahamed, G.P.D. Priyadarshana, T.S. Muneer Sally, M.F. Mohamed Hajmal, Sivaloganathan T.M.H. Mohamed Aseer, H.A. Sanjula Thilan, A.H. Mohamed Ushman, M.I. Mohamed Ijas, M.C.M. Rifnaz, M.F. Mohamed Asath, A. Afam Akram, A.R.M. Rizkhan, Mohamed Sajith, M.I.M. Mujeeb, M. I. Mohamed Infaz, F.R. Murshid, Thanga Raja Ajith, M. Rafik Irshad, S. Kumaran Ruban Raj, Pramkumar Sinthujan, M.A. Mohamed Azard, Chandrakumar Dinesh, A. Olumide Francis, O. Job Michale and Traore Mounhamed

  Comments - 0

  • Leave a comment

Top Stories

First National Symposium on Data for SDGs inaugurated

#SDGDataLK, Sri Lanka’s First National Symposium on Data for the SDGs, was inaugurated today morning with the presence of the Speaker of Parl...

20 March 2018 - Views : 2

No legal basis to approach ICJ against Sri Lanka;Indian Central Govt tells Supreme Courts

20 March 2018

Govt assured HRC to continue reconciliation mechanisms & stern action against hate speech

20 March 2018

LG bodies to commence sittings today

20 March 2018



Features & Analysis

Bangladeshi Film Festival this month

The Bangladeshi community in Sri Lanka has organized Bangladesh Film Festival in Sri Lanka from March 23-25, a releas...

Grassrooted presents V Day 2018 : PatriANarchy

This April 1, Grassrooted will take  a look at how patriarchal values continue to inflict violence  in...

“Around the Pearl” annual cycling challenge is back

“Around the Pearl” is an annual cycling challenge happening over 10 days covering 1400km around the ...

HSBC Colombo Fashion Week, building the next generation of Sri Lankan designers

HSBC Colombo Fashion Week has witnessed an increasing number of designers who approach it annually with the intent of...