SL in Ind: Sri Lanka forces courageous Test draw in Delhi

6 December 2017 - 57   - 0

India won a record ninth Test series in succession after drawing with Sri Lanka in the pollution-tainted third and final Test in New Delhi today (6).
Top-ranked India won the series 1-0 to equal Australia's record of nine successive Test series victories, between 2005- 2008. 

The first Test between India and Sri Lanka in Kolkata had ended in a draw and the hosts won the second game by an innings and 239 runs. 

Sri Lanka managed to salvage some pride in the in final match thanks to Dhananjaya de Silva and Roshen Silva, who defied the odds and fought back to deny India a win. 

Dhananjaya, who retired hurt on 119 due to muscle stiffness, and Roshen (74 not out) held Sri Lanka steady over three sessions of play on the final day, after being set 410 for victory late on day four. 

Roshen was batting alongside Niroshan Dickwella on 44 when the two teams decided to shake hands with just seven mandatory overs left for the day. 

The Test was marred by severe pollution in the Indian capital, with fast bowlers from both sides vomiting Tuesday (5). 

In an unprecedented move, Sri Lankan players wore facemasks while fielding to combat the toxic air, which interrupted play on day two. 

The US embassy website on Wednesday showed concentrations of the smallest and most harmful airborne pollutants hit 234, better than a day earlier but still nearly nine times the World Health Organization's safe limit. 

On the field, it was Ravindra Jadeja who rattled the Sri Lankan top order with three strikes including Angelo Mathews' key wicket in the morning session. 

But De Silva thwarted the Indian attack with his third Test hundred. 

He built crucial partnerships with skipper Dinesh Chandimal (36) and then with Silva, who began his Test career with a duck in the first innings. 

Silva also combined with Dickwella in an unbeaten 94-run stand.


1st innings 536-7 dec (Virat Kohli 243, Murali Vijay 155; Lakshan Sandakan 4/167)
2nd innings 246-5 dec (Shikhar Dhawan 67, Rohit Sharma 50n.o,; Suranga Lakmal 1/60)

Sri Lanka 

1st innings 373 all out (Dinesh Chandimal 164, Angelo Mathews 111; Ishant Sharma 3/98, R. Ashwin 3-90) 

2nd innings (target 410; overnight 31-3) 299-5 at close (Dimuth Karunaratne 13, Dhananjaya de Silva retired hurt 119, Dinesh Chandimal 36, Roshen Silva 74n.o, Niroshan Dickwella 44n.o, Ravindra Jadeja 3/81, Mohammed Shami 1/50, R. Ashwin 1/126)

  Comments - 0

  • Leave a comment

Top Stories

Underworld figure shot dead by STF

Alleged key underworld figure Dadallage Manju has been shot dead by the Police Special Task Force (STF).  Manju had reportedly been ki...

23 February 2018 - Views : 144

Diyathalawa explosion: Army appoints five member committee

23 February 2018

SLAF Scouts hold dental clinic

23 February 2018

Lankan domestic aide who left Saudi 22-years ago to receive end-of-service benefits from sponsor

23 February 2018



Features & Analysis

Chinese New Year at Graze Kitchen 

The Hilton Colombo marked the seventh day of the Chinese New Year, Human day or ‘Renri’ on February 22 wi...

Get ready for Ironman 70.3 Colombo this weekend

The mega Ironman 70.3 Colombo competition, the first ever in South Asia, will see over 3000 athletes and their famili...

Legendary Wycliffe Gordon and His International All Stars to tour Sri Lanka

The legendary Wycliffe Gordon and His International All Stars will tour Sri Lanka February 24 to 28, staging per...

Head down to the Kala Pola this Sunday

The Silver Anniversary edition of Sri Lanka’s acclaimed open-air art fair, Kala Pola, will take place at Anan...